The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2 or 3 points? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/86299-2-3-points.html)

onetime1 Fri Jan 20, 2012 01:34pm

Here's the text of 5-2-1:

A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. A ball that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown.
__________________


5-2-1 clearly states "a teammate"... why does it not address the defense? If the ball is deflected in the basket by a defender on a post feed is it covered by the rule? Think of the defender who is covering the passer with the ball. The passer is behind the line. The defender is inside the arc. The ball is passed from the offensive player on a post feed and the defender closest to the ball deflects it into the basket.

onetime1 Fri Jan 20, 2012 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 815209)
Hold up, wait a minute... this isnt what you said originally.

Correct, the original post was made before I did not know we had to determine exactly who deflected the ball. Now I realize this is an important part of the play so what if you can not determine exactly who the ball touched last before being deflected into the basket.

Camron Rust Fri Jan 20, 2012 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by onetime1 (Post 815141)
1) A player attempts a 3 point shot from behind the arc. The defense takes off from inside the arc and clearly blocks the shot. The shot goes in. What is the call?

2) A player from behind the 3 point arc attempts to pass the ball into the post. The defense inside the 3 point line deflects the ball into the basket. What is the call?

#1 is 3 points.

#2 is 2 points.

And here is why...

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 815187)
4.41.4 Situation B

A1's three point try is short and below ring level when it hits the shoulder of B1 and rebounds to the backboard and through the basket.

The three-point try ended when it was obviously short and below the ring. However, since a live ball went through the basket, two points are scored.

The thrown-ball rule was instituted so we do not have to determine if it was a try or a pass.

4.41.4B tells us that when the opportunity for it to go in has clearly ended and a deflection puts it in, it will be 2 points. Since we are not to judge whether it was a try or a pass, substitute pass in for try in 4.41.4B....and you get 2 points.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 815187)

But if it was a pass that originated outside the 3 point line by A and it hit B in the shoulder and went through the basket, then it's 3 points according to 5.2.1 situation C.

5.2.1C is talking about a ball that is a pass/try towards the basket where the defender gets their fingertips on the ball like a blocked shot....but it still goes in. It is not relevant to a ball thrown nowhere near the basket. The clues to that are buried in the specific words chosen...

"The ball is legally touched by"
"The ball continues in flight and goes through A's basket."

With the wording in 5.2.1C, it is clearly addressing a ball that goes to the basket as a result of the original throw and that a mere "touching" by the defense doesn't change its status. Touching is not bouncing/deflecting the ball in a new direction.

tref Fri Jan 20, 2012 01:41pm

Are you an official?

mbyron Fri Jan 20, 2012 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 815142)
1. 3

2. 2

+1
;)

Toren Fri Jan 20, 2012 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 815216)
#1 is 3 points.

#2 is 2 points.

And here is why...



The thrown-ball rule was instituted so we do not have to determine if it was a try or a pass.

4.41.4B tells us that when the opportunity for it to go in has cleared ended and a deflection puts it in, it will be 2 points. Since we are not to judge whether it was a try or a pass, substitute pass in for try in 4.41.4B....and you get 2 points.



5.2.1C is talking about a ball that is a pass/try towards the basket where the defender gets their fingertips on the ball like a blocked shot....but it still goes in. It is not relevant to a ball throw nowhere near the basket. The clues to that are buried in the specific words chosen...

"The ball is legally touched by"
"The ball continues in flight and goes through A's basket."

With the latter wording, it is addressing a ball who goes to the basket as a result of the original throw and that a mere "touching" by the defense doesn't change its status. Touching is not bouncing/deflecting the ball in a new direction.

This is how I was originally understanding it as well. Damn forum got me second guessing :D

But it's a great review, cause I hadn't thought about this situation in a long time.

rockyroad Fri Jan 20, 2012 02:56pm

Perhaps some of the confusion stems from the fact that the rule book uses the words "throw" and "thrown" when talking about a try (shot), and some of us are thinking of "throw" as being a pass...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1