The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable Error At The End Of Game? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/85580-correctable-error-end-game.html)

MOofficial Tue Jan 10, 2012 01:28pm

Correctable Error At The End Of Game?
 
Tie Score
2 Seconds Left
A1 is fouled and TEAM A is in the 1-1 bonus.
Shot misses and time runs out.
Before the OT the scorers table informs the officials that it should be been a 2 shot foul instead of a 1 and 1. What do you do?

I'm saying you are still in the correctable error time frame because the 2nd live ball has not came yet because OT has not started so you go back and shoot the last shot with the lane cleared, no time on the clock. If he makes it, the game is over. If he misses it, they go to OT

Let me know if this is correct or incorrect and if anyone has the rule reference that would be great!

Thanks!

P.S This did not happen in a game of mine. This was an email that I received.

deecee Tue Jan 10, 2012 01:33pm

shoot the free throw and then start OT. The correction goes to the POI. Once the quarter ends tied action that happens after that is part of the OT.

bob jenkins Tue Jan 10, 2012 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 811978)
shoot the free throw and then start OT. The correction goes to the POI. Once the quarter ends tied action that happens after that is part of the OT.

Not correct. Once the OT starts, then the OT must finish. But, the CE is still part of the 4th quarter. (and, yes, I know OT is also part of the 4th quarter, but bringing that up leads to an infinite loop.)

The OP had it right.

deecee Tue Jan 10, 2012 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 811992)
Not correct. Once the OT starts, then the OT must finish. But, the CE is still part of the 4th quarter. (and, yes, I know OT is also part of the 4th quarter, but bringing that up leads to an infinite loop.)

The OP had it right.

but Bob - doesn't the CE go to POI. In this case it's the end of the 4th and the start of OT?

tref Tue Jan 10, 2012 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MOofficial (Post 811973)
Tie Score
2 Seconds Left
A1 is fouled and TEAM A is in the 1-1 bonus.
Shot misses and time runs out.
Before the OT the scorers table informs the officials that it should be been a 2 shot foul instead of a 1 and 1. What do you do?

Personally, I do not know how to administer CEs as well as I should. Too much live/dead ball & before/after the clock starts/stops for me. So I just choose not to have them in my games. *knock-knock*

Did the board not show "10" after the foul was reported?

I dont care if the table buzzes & says 1 and 1 or 2... we are not administering any FTs until there is a 7 or 10 on the board.
On the 6th & 9th fouls its wise to visually/verbally say the next white foul is bonus or double to our partners.


Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 811998)
but Bob - doesn't the CE go to POI. In this case it's the end of the 4th and the start of OT?

When does OT start?

MOofficial Tue Jan 10, 2012 01:50pm

But the POI would be the free throw. The time had ran out and you do not put time back on for a correctable error. So in this case the error occurred with 2 seconds and then the time had ran out and you will not put time back on the clock.

Is that a correct interpretation?

MOofficial Tue Jan 10, 2012 01:55pm

Go into the case book.

Rule 2.10.1 Situation B

Toren Tue Jan 10, 2012 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MOofficial (Post 811973)
Tie Score
2 Seconds Left
A1 is fouled and TEAM A is in the 1-1 bonus.
Shot misses and time runs out.
Before the OT the scorers table informs the officials that it should be been a 2 shot foul instead of a 1 and 1. What do you do?

I'm saying you are still in the correctable error time frame because the 2nd live ball has not came yet because OT has not started so you go back and shoot the last shot with the lane cleared, no time on the clock. If he makes it, the game is over. If he misses it, they go to OT

Let me know if this is correct or incorrect and if anyone has the rule reference that would be great!

Thanks!

P.S This did not happen in a game of mine. This was an email that I received.

Case book 2.10.1 Situation B

deecee Tue Jan 10, 2012 02:02pm

Yup OP is correct. My assumption was wrong.

fullor30 Tue Jan 10, 2012 02:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 812004)
Personally, I do not know how to administer CEs as well as I should. Too much live/dead ball & before/after the clock starts/stops for me. So I just choose not to have them in my games. *knock-knock*

Did the board not show "10" after the foul was reported?

I dont care if the table buzzes & says 1 and 1 or 2... we are not administering any FTs until there is a 7 or 10 on the board.
On the 6th & 9th fouls its wise to visually/verbally say the next white foul is bonus or double to our partners.




When does OT start?

When does a game start?

mbyron Tue Jan 10, 2012 02:03pm

Right, 2.10.1 B is (almost) exactly the OP.

Worrying about the POI is moot: that tells you what to do next, AFTER the CE. This is a CE, within the CE time frame. Therefore, you shoot the FT with the lane cleared.

If made, you do NOT go to OT, as Bob has pointed out. Since OT has not started, it does not have to be played. If missed, play OT.

OT has not started because the 4th quarter (proper) has not ended: it's not over till all FT's in the quarter have been shot. (5-6-2 EXCEPTION 3)

Refsmitty Tue Jan 10, 2012 02:03pm

Wording
 
2.10.1 SITUATION B: The score is tied with three seconds remaining in the final
period. A1 is fouled and is given a one-and-one. A1 misses the first free throw;
B1 grabs the rebound and attempts a long shot. The try is unsuccessful and the
teams prepare for overtime. Before the overtime begins, the officials are notified
that A1 should have received two free throws instead of a one-and-one. RULING:
The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe, and shall be corrected.
The second free throw is awarded, if successful, the game is over. If the
free throw is missed, overtime is played. (2-10-1a)

just another ref Tue Jan 10, 2012 02:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 812004)
I dont care if the table buzzes & says 1 and 1 or 2... we are not administering any FTs until there is a 7 or 10 on the board.


Two problems:

1. Some scoreboards do not show team fouls.

2. Some scoreboards that have that capability have nobody operating that part.

tref Tue Jan 10, 2012 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 812039)
Two problems:

1. Some scoreboards do not show team fouls.

2. Some scoreboards that have that capability have nobody operating that part.

Thank God they dont send me to those locations anymore :-)
FTR, if the scoreboard isn't working properly I gladly accept the challenge of keeping track of team fouls in my head as well as verifying where we are with the book, on the fly. I also, tell them to let me know on the 6th & 9th & have the visiting book concur.

I'm sorry but CEs can be avoided if a crew of 3 are on point.

I once heard a wise man say, we may not get every call correct tonight, but there is no reason we cant be perfect administratively.

Welpe Tue Jan 10, 2012 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 812040)
Thank God they dont send me to those locations anymore :-)

It's also a regional thing. Out here where football is king and even the smallest football fields have 25 second clocks, you don't see many gyms with those scoreboards.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1