![]() |
The title of this thread is in my top five fears for a game. It's all too possible for the table to screw this up.
Me: "Is that ten?" Table: "nope, nine." After the horn, "Wait, that WAS ten." |
Quote:
Quote:
If not, just ask the coaches, they always know ;-) |
Well maybe the varsity officials around here...certainly not me. I get an general inkling but I don't have a counter going in my head yet.
|
Quote:
"When do we shoot free throws?" "One and one on the 7th. Two on the 10th." "Will you tell us or do we need to keep up with it?" :eek: Wait, there's more. Partner had wrong directions to the site, and was late arriving. Principal told me what happened. "He's on his way, but we want to go ahead and get started. He's going to help you until the other guy gets here." He was pointing at the clock keeper.:) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
You work for JW? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
After fixing a correctable error, play is resumed at the point of interruption UNLESS the error is failing to award a merited free throw and there's been no change of possession. So how we would resume the game (if there were time left to resume the game) would depend on who gained possession of the rebound after the missed first free throw. In the original poster's situation, the free throw is attempted with no on the lane because there is no time on the clock. But if this same thing happened with 4 minutes left in the game, we would have to know who had possession before the error was discovered. If the shooting team got the rebound and then we discovered the error, we'd simply line up to shoot the merited free throw and then play off the make or miss. If Team B secured the rebound (or had stolen the ball from Team A before the error was discovered), THEN we'd shoot the merited free throw with the lane cleared and resume at the POI. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Only worked with him once, a couple years ago. I don't recall him being territorial. |
ABA game down here, not territorial, just ol' skool. And since he's the crew chief on this one, I will not double down when he is L.
|
Quote:
|
IDK some people just like to hear their own whistle on thier play. Which is cool with me, I just prefer doubles in the paint & as long as the right official takes it to the table... who cares.
|
The key thing to remember from the Casebook Play is that the second free throw is part of the fourth quarter so by rule the game is not over because the penalty for the foul has not been completed and no penalty can carry over to a new period.
MTD, Sr. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58am. |