![]() |
Wagner @ Santa Clara last shot
Don't know if anyone has posted this yet, so here it is for discussion and those who haven't seen it.
Kenny Ortiz's Game-Winning Shot - YouTube |
<object width="480" height="360"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/1-ra_2Dvcz0?version=3&hl=en_GB&rel=0"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/1-ra_2Dvcz0?version=3&hl=en_GB&rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="480" height="360" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true"></embed></object>
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Ir
Is this a reviewable play?
|
<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/1-ra_2Dvcz0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Only reviewable to see if shot was released in time, not for trajectory. |
should be no good right? it went over the backboard. Whether it swishes or bounces on the rim 10 times shouldn't matter.
It also looks like the first shot landed out of bounds, but that is a different argument. |
Quote:
It looks to me as if it's legal, but I'm not sure we can really tell (and no, I didn't do a frame-by-frame analysis). |
Does the ball not bounce OOB off of the first try?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I didn't see a ball go over the top of the backboard. If it's not illegal, it's legal.
I still love the radio call, though. Oh, sweet bias! |
Quote:
Connect the dots (point of release ---> front of rim). That line of flight "seems" to not pass over the backboard. If it would have been a "swish" that line would seem to pass over the backboard. |
Legal shot.
The shot went up roughly inline with the edge of the board (as viewed by the camera) and came down on a line in front of the edge of the board (as viewed by the camera). That means that the ball, at it's peak, short of a massive wind gust to move it, was (or at least most of the ball was) outside the corner of the board. Of course, there is the issue of whether the rule means it is a violation if part of the ball, the center of the ball, or the whole ball passes over the top. If it were any part of the ball, I'd think this would be a violation (I think some of the ball probably did clip the space above the backboard) but if it were the center of the ball or the whole ball, no violation. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12pm. |