The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 11:18pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
A1 dribbling up court and at the division line b1 hacks him on arm and I blow
He gets hit at the division line and your partner can tell that it would be an easy lay-up? Was it a 1-on-none breakaway? If not, if doesn't seem all that clear to me that it would have been a gimme opportunity, especially at the freshman level.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 07, 2012, 12:14am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,557
This is probably one of the hardest things to learn or do consistently as an official. And there can often be different opinions as to when that applies. Also the ability of the players change drastically based on the level. Freshman cannot do things varsity players or even college players can do. If they could they would play varsity at that age.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 07, 2012, 12:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
I have heard the saying, but where I've heard it, team is up 30 points and the losing team commits a traveling violation 70 feet away from the rim with no pressure. tweet.

Right Call...wrong time.

Your case is more about patient whistle, but just from the OP, it's hard to say it wasn't warranted. So ask yourself, did the game benefit from that call? If you are thinking the player would have played through and scored 2 points and you just took that away, then it's probably not a benefit. But if there were other circumstances that it required a quick whistle, then the game did benefit from it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 07, 2012, 12:35am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Just because a player gets hacked on the arm does not necessarily mean there is a foul. What movements was he hindered from? What advantage was gained?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 07, 2012, 12:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Just because a player gets hacked on the arm does not necessarily mean there is a foul. What movements was he hindered from? What advantage was gained?
While I agree, if the answer to those questions is "none", then it wasn't the right call at the wrong time, it was the wron call, period. OTOH, if the answer is "some", then you can't assume the player would have had an uncontested layup, and it was the right call at the right time.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 07, 2012, 12:57am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
While I agree, if the answer to those questions is "none", then it wasn't the right call at the wrong time, it was the wron call, period. OTOH, if the answer is "some", then you can't assume the player would have had an uncontested layup, and it was the right call at the right time.
I agree. I also agree with Toren's comment regarding the phrase. I've heard it in reference to traveling calls against the losing team in a blow out.

I think maybe this official was trying to use a catch phrase to do two things; encourage the new guy and make a legitimate point. That's a charitable assumption, though.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 07, 2012, 12:45am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
I have heard the saying, but where I've heard it, team is up 30 points and the losing team commits a traveling violation 70 feet away from the rim with no pressure. tweet.

Right Call...wrong time.
I call obvious violations when they take place and I see them clearly. The tape might not lie in those cases either. That is different than not calling foul that might not affect the play IMO.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 07, 2012, 12:59am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I call obvious violations when they take place and I see them clearly. The tape might not lie in those cases either. That is different than not calling foul that might not affect the play IMO.

Peace
Let me just say that Toren's comments represent the expected calls here as well.

Sort of like what RichMSN said previously about the losing team in his blow out sitting in the lane and lighting a fire.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 07, 2012, 11:46am
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
This is probably one of the hardest things to learn or do consistently as an official. And there can often be different opinions as to when that applies. Also the ability of the players change drastically based on the level. Freshman cannot do things varsity players or even college players can do. If they could they would play varsity at that age.

Peace
Another scenario that I am still working my way thru is when there is contact in the lane under the basket where B1 is holding is spot and is vertical and A1 shoots and contact occurs with B1. (Not driving to hoop just underneat

I have called a foul in many cases on B1 but have been told since A1 initiated contact and B1 was holding his spot..no call.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 07, 2012, 11:52am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Another scenario that I am still working my way thru is when there is contact in the lane under the basket where B1 is holding is spot and is vertical and A1 shoots and contact occurs with B1. (Not driving to hoop just underneat

I have called a foul in many cases on B1 but have been told since A1 initiated contact and B1 was holding his spot..no call.
We penalize the defense way too often for things they do not do wrong under the rules. This is why you referee the defense and many of these plays will become obvious more often than not.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 07, 2012, 12:47pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Another scenario that I am still working my way thru is when there is contact in the lane under the basket where B1 is holding is spot and is vertical and A1 shoots and contact occurs with B1. (Not driving to hoop just underneat

I have called a foul in many cases on B1 but have been told since A1 initiated contact and B1 was holding his spot..no call.
Why would you call a foul on B1? Ask yourself what he did wrong, and remember what the rules allow B1 to do. This should be a no-call, as B1 is perfectly legal and A1 jumping into him doesn't change that.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 07, 2012, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Another scenario that I am still working my way thru is when there is contact in the lane under the basket where B1 is holding is spot and is vertical and A1 shoots and contact occurs with B1. (Not driving to hoop just underneat

I have called a foul in many cases on B1 but have been told since A1 initiated contact and B1 was holding his spot..no call.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Why would you call a foul on B1? Ask yourself what he did wrong, and remember what the rules allow B1 to do. This should be a no-call, as B1 is perfectly legal and A1 jumping into him doesn't change that.
I'm not necessarily big on who initiates the contact. If the defender has his arms extended outside his vertical plane, then A1 is legally entitled to that space. If he initiates contact, so what? It's still a foul on B1.

I get kids behind the shooter all the time that "claim" they have verticality, yet the contact the shooter on the arms on the shot. I've yet to figure out how that's possible from behind A1. Foul.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wrong call jemiller Football 9 Mon Oct 04, 2010 01:16pm
Wrong time on clock, what would you do? tomegun Basketball 24 Mon Jan 25, 2010 05:49pm
Wrong Call Rev.Ref63 Basketball 6 Tue Nov 08, 2005 11:21pm
When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? Deion Softball 1 Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am
What if player tells you your call was wrong? Danny R Baseball 11 Mon May 13, 2002 09:19am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1