The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
A1 shoots the floater in the lane...swish
Upon returning to the floor A1 crashes into B1... p/c send it up north!
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
A1 shoots the floater in the lane...swish
Upon returning to the floor A1 crashes into B1... p/c send it up north!
That would be a pushing foul on A1. Basket counts.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
That would be a pushing foul on A1. Basket counts.
Yup, in NCAA-M
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Yup, in NCAA-M
Nfhs too once the shooter lands he is just another player on the court.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
Re. 5-1-2, "If a player-control foul occurs before or after a goal, the goal is canceled."

In what situation could a player-control foul occur after a goal?


Hmmmm did I misread the question or did you
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Hmmmm did I misread the question or did you
You did.

Once an airborne shooter returns to the floor, it is no longer a player control foul when he crashes into a defender.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
You did.

Once an airborne shooter returns to the floor, it is no longer a player control foul when he crashes into a defender.
Really??

Forget Rosetta Stone bring that Hooked on Phonics back!!

Reading is FUNdamental
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
That would be a pushing foul on A1. Basket counts.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Yup, in NCAA-M
Actually, it would be ignored in all codes, unless it was intentional (aka Flagrant 1) or flagrant (2). And, then, it would be a T.

Now, if tref said, "...BEFORE returning to the floor ..." we'd have a PC foul in FED and NCAAW and a common foul in NCAAM
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Actually, it would be ignored in all codes, unless it was intentional (aka Flagrant 1) or flagrant (2). And, then, it would be a T.

Now, if tref said, "...BEFORE returning to the floor ..." we'd have a PC foul in FED and NCAAW and a common foul in NCAAM
Before/Upon... endline/baseline... player control/offense
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Before/Upon
These are not the same.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Okay, if a shooter scores on a try & crashes into the defender BEFORE returning to the playing surface then we dont count the basket because of a p/c foul in HS.

Around here you can really tell when people dont have a game to work.

Time for Facebook...
__________________
I gotta new attitude!

Last edited by tref; Tue Dec 20, 2011 at 02:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 21, 2011, 03:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Actually, it would be ignored in all codes, unless it was intentional (aka Flagrant 1) or flagrant (2). And, then, it would be a T.

Now, if tref said, "...BEFORE returning to the floor ..." we'd have a PC foul in FED and NCAAW and a common foul in NCAAM and FIBA
Fixed it for ya!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 03:01pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
A1 shoots the floater in the lane...swish
Upon returning to the floor A1 crashes into B1... p/c send it up north!
I knew what you meant....so did everyone else. They should have just pointed out that your exact wording was wrong.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 20, 2011, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I knew what you meant....so did everyone else. They should have just pointed out that your exact wording was wrong.
Actually, I have met officials who thought that the rule was (more or less) as he worded it -- that if A1 contacted B1 upon (meaning "immediately after") returning to the floor, it was a PC foul. Different officials have (incorrectly) said the "PC foul period" lasts until both feet are on the floor, or through "continuous motion", or until A1 came to a stop or turned the other direction, ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NF and the "hair control devices" Jeremy Hohn Basketball 12 Mon Nov 30, 2009 08:06am
Can "FOUL" be made "FAIR"? PAT THE REF Baseball 60 Sat Feb 24, 2007 09:01pm
Backcourt violation "team control" wizard Basketball 13 Mon Feb 05, 2007 09:17am
"Team Control" Mechanics imaref Basketball 33 Fri Feb 02, 2007 07:21am
"Just leave it on...we'll control it from the truck" ref18 Football 13 Thu Aug 10, 2006 02:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1