![]() |
Throw in spot?
Two man crew working youth AAU game: A has throw in from under own basket and tosses out to top of key area where ball is tipped first by A1 and then recovered by A1 deep in backcourt. Trail whistles for back court call, lead comes to discuss and a correction is made. Where is impending throw in spot?
|
Where do you put a ball in after an inadvertent whistle?
|
Where it was when inadvertent whistle occurred?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Well, I guess the ball location when the whistle blew was deep in A's backcourt, where A1 first touched. When the refs conferred they were at midcourt and put ball back in play there.
|
Confucius Says ...
Quote:
Quote:
This works for both player location, and ball location. Also. The midcourt line is twenty-eight feet from the endline, and hasn't been used in NFHS rules for at least twenty years. Did you mean division line? |
Confucius say what?
"Don't sweat the small stuff"? Maybe that was someone else. I guess I used "midcourt" to describe the vicinity the refs were in when they discussed play. "Table-side" could maybe have been a more correct term. If I was going to establish a spot throw in, or refer to a specific line, I believe I would use "division" line. Speaking of "line", the bottom line is no one has answered, I don't believe definitively, the original question: Where is the throw-in made on this play involving the IW? I'm going to assume from the questions, comments and posts that most feel it would be at the spot closest to where the ball was when the IW occurred.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Misty Water Colored Memories ...
Quote:
|
I must be missing something here...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
In my giant corner of Texas, I've seen plenty of newer courts that have the 28 foot mark.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I'm still confused and disagree...
Quote:
This is a backcourt violation. |
The intent of adding team control during a throw-in is to not award free throws for a foul by the team in control. With regard to everything else during a throw-in, we handle things the EXACT same way as we have before. The wording in the rule is written poorly, but we know what intent was from the NFHS as they have made that clear through official power point slides and their interpretations.
2011-2012 NFHS Basketball Interpretations SITUATION 4: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the free throw line, is high, bounces several times and goes into Team A’s backcourt untouched. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball in the backcourt and the backcourt count starts as soon as A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4- 12-2d; 9-9) SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
While there was TC throughout (because of the new wording), there was never PC inbounds. |
Quote:
|
Much clearer...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Personally, I'd give them all the full 28 feet and not worry about it. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
And yes, I enforce what I need to, but if I was king, I'd eliminate the box and give them 28' just like college coaches. |
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46am. |