The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw in spot? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/84198-throw-spot.html)

McMac Tue Dec 13, 2011 09:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 804398)
Then by the old, really old, definition, they were between the twenty-eight foot hash mark and the division line. Wait a minute, there is no more twenty-eight foot hash mark. Thank God. Anybody work on a court so old that there are twenty-eight foot hash marks, inbounds, on the playing court?

Yes, just about every court I work on has a 28 foot mark. There a few that do not have the mark, but most still do. But then again, most of my season is MS ball so the last time they did the floor was probably when it was built.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 14, 2011 09:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 804398)
Then by the old, really old, definition, they were between the twenty-eight foot hash mark and the division line. Wait a minute, there is no more twenty-eight foot hash mark. Thank God. Anybody work on a court so old that there are twenty-eight foot hash marks, inbounds, on the playing court?

The mark is required (at least in front of the bench) on college courts (although it's used to mark the coaching box, not for the "lack of action" rule).

Quote:

Originally Posted by ga314ref (Post 804409)
...A has team control, A1 touches the ball in the front court, then chases it down and recovers in the backcourt. Why is this not a backcourt violation?

because it started with a throw-in

CoachP Wed Dec 14, 2011 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 804398)
Anybody work on a court so old that there are twenty-eight foot hash marks, inbounds, on the playing court?

Every day!:p

Welpe Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:10am

In my giant corner of Texas, I've seen plenty of newer courts that have the 28 foot mark.

APG Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 804615)
In my giant corner of Texas, I've seen plenty of newer courts that have the 28 foot mark.

That's because the 28 foot mark isn't as rare as Billy is making it out to be.

Welpe Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 804616)
That's because the 28 foot mark isn't as rare as Billy is making it out to be.

Yabut that doesn't fit the misty water colored memories.

ga314ref Wed Dec 14, 2011 09:16pm

I'm still confused and disagree...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 804556)

because it started with a throw-in

...since this is not a scenario from 9-9-3, and has all the elements described in 9-9-1 to be called a BC. Had A1 jumped from the FC to the BC for his initial touch, I'd agree: no BC, but A1 touches the ball "at the top of the key" (ending the throw-in), and then runs and secures the ball in the BC.

This is a backcourt violation.

APG Wed Dec 14, 2011 09:22pm

The intent of adding team control during a throw-in is to not award free throws for a foul by the team in control. With regard to everything else during a throw-in, we handle things the EXACT same way as we have before. The wording in the rule is written poorly, but we know what intent was from the NFHS as they have made that clear through official power point slides and their interpretations.

2011-2012 NFHS Basketball Interpretations

SITUATION 4: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the free throw line, is high, bounces several times and goes into Team A’s backcourt untouched. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.

RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball in the backcourt and the backcourt count starts as soon as A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4- 12-2d; 9-9)

SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.

RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)

26 Year Gap Wed Dec 14, 2011 09:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 804398)
Then by the old, really old, definition, they were between the twenty-eight foot hash mark and the division line. Wait a minute, there is no more twenty-eight foot hash mark. Thank God. Anybody work on a court so old that there are twenty-eight foot hash marks, inbounds, on the playing court?

Wouldn't that make the playing court 112' long?

Raymond Thu Dec 15, 2011 08:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ga314ref (Post 804409)
...A has team control, A1 touches the ball in the front court, then chases it down and recovers in the backcourt. Why is this not a backcourt violation?

At what point was there player control in the front court?

bob jenkins Thu Dec 15, 2011 09:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ga314ref (Post 804864)
...since this is not a scenario from 9-9-3, and has all the elements described in 9-9-1 to be called a BC. Had A1 jumped from the FC to the BC for his initial touch, I'd agree: no BC, but A1 touches the ball "at the top of the key" (ending the throw-in), and then runs and secures the ball in the BC.

This is a backcourt violation.

Despite the new (and incorrect) wording this year, the play described is still not a violation. PC needs to be established inbounds at some point before there can be a BC violation.

While there was TC throughout (because of the new wording), there was never PC inbounds.

Rich Thu Dec 15, 2011 09:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 804615)
In my giant corner of Texas, I've seen plenty of newer courts that have the 28 foot mark.

The 14 foot coaches box sits at 14 feet and 28 feet, so there's a 28 foot mark on all courts that I work -- it's just that the mark is off the court.

ga314ref Thu Dec 15, 2011 04:01pm

Much clearer...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 804868)
SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.

RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)

...thanks.

Welpe Thu Dec 15, 2011 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 805003)
The 14 foot coaches box sits at 14 feet and 28 feet, so there's a 28 foot mark on all courts that I work -- it's just that the mark is off the court.

Conversely, I'm not sure I've seen a marked coach's box yet. That's one I wouldn't mind, especially since the sub-varsity box is only supposed to be six feet (yeah right).

Rich Thu Dec 15, 2011 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 805123)
Conversely, I'm not sure I've seen a marked coach's box yet. That's one I wouldn't mind, especially since the sub-varsity box is only supposed to be six feet (yeah right).

Subvarsity coaches get *no* box in Wisconsin.

Personally, I'd give them all the full 28 feet and not worry about it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1