The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 27, 2003, 11:27pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
As I've said in other discussions of this topic, the answer is A. Although the prohibition against crossing the plane specifically ends when the ball is released, nowhere does the rulebook say that the prohibition against touching the ball ends when it is released. Technical foul.
As supported by 10-3-12: "A player shall not reach through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touch or dislodge the ball...."

As Chuck says, this does not specify only before the release. I think this is a call that would be hard to make, (Ball in mid-air, which side of the plane was it on?)
but in a big gym with a lot of space out of bounds, it could
certainly happen, and when it did, the above rule seems undeniable to me.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1