![]() |
|
|
|||
Concur. I had this play in a college game 3 years ago. I called a travel but didn't feel good about the call so I looked it up and discovered that I should have called a blocking foul.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
I must confess that I'm struggling with a travel call here.
Here's my rationale: If contact causes a travel, I will have a foul, unless the defender had LGP. (That is, ball handler runs into defender, who's guarding legally.) I don't see how anyone on the floor could have LGP. Nobody intends to guard from down there.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
I suppose a better way for me to say it is, if contact causes a travel, and it's contact that I'd otherwise rule as incidental, I can't anymore, because the contact has caused a violation. Someone on the floor causing someone to travel is a foul, in my mind. I guess I'm just a bigger believer in the college application. In the meantime, though, that hardly matters.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
Quote:
Note that a legal position on the court is NOT the same as legal guarding position. There are many instances of a player having a legal potion while not having legal guarding position. The only things LGP add is the ability to be moving/jumping/verticality at the time of contact. Think of contact with a hand which is in contact with the ball.....it is also incidental by rule, not because it didn't affect the play.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
I saw this play last night. I've been lurking here too long, because my first thought was, that's a foul in NCAA according to the esteemed members of the forum.
Is this the relevant case book play? A.R. 110. B1 slips to the floor in the free-throw lane. A1 (with his/her back to B1, who is prone) receives a pass, turns and, in his or her attempt to drive to the basket, trips and falls over B1. RULING: Foul on B1, who is not in a legal guarding position. (Rule 4-35.4.a) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
For NFHS, does anyone have a difference of opinion if the dribbler knows the kid is back there lying on the floor? If he glances--and you SEE him look--at the kid behind him and he knows he's there, do you still give him the foul, or do you go with the travel?
I guess I'm sort of asking if a kid tells you first he's going to foul do you still call the foul just because the kid "knew" he was about to do something wrong, but I'm sensing a different type of sitch here...
__________________
Dan R. |
|
|||
Quote:
I think your question is more applicable to NCAA.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
The play in question:
I'd have a hard time calling travel under NFHS or NCAA rules.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quite honestly, I don't see the push that you're referring to.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Travelling would be impossible, anyway, because he was dribbling on the way down. Still, he was tripped. Easy foul.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
I'd have a hard time not calling a foul on this play. B1 went into A1's legs.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|