The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Flagrant Fouls (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/82892-flagrant-fouls.html)

The_Rookie Wed Nov 02, 2011 02:29pm

Flagrant Fouls
 
Clarification On:

Flagrant TECHNICAL Foul versus Flagrant PERSONAL Foul?

Where would the ball be put in play? (Assuming a single foul)

bob jenkins Wed Nov 02, 2011 02:35pm

Where is the ball put in play for ANY technical foul or ANY personal foul that results in a throw-in?

Welpe Wed Nov 02, 2011 02:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 797053)
Where is the ball put in play for ANY technical foul or ANY personal foul that results in a throw-in?

Always listen to Bob.

The_Rookie Wed Nov 02, 2011 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 797053)
Where is the ball put in play for ANY technical foul or ANY personal foul that results in a throw-in?

Tech=Div line opp the table

Personal=spot closest to where foul occured

JRutledge Wed Nov 02, 2011 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 797058)
Tech=Div line opp the table

Personal=spot closest to where foul occured

That is your answer.

Peace

BillyMac Sun Nov 06, 2011 07:42am

Double Your Pleasure ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 797058)
Tech=Div line opp the table.

Double flagrant technical foul ???

JRutledge Sun Nov 06, 2011 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 797342)
Double flagrant technical foul ???

A technical foul has little to do with any double foul.

Peace

BillyMac Sun Nov 06, 2011 05:11pm

High School Rules ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 797382)
A technical foul has little to do with any double foul.

Sure? Dead ball. Blue 5, and White 4, decide to have a profanity-laced debate. Official charges both with a flagrant technical fouls. It's a double foul so the ball is inbounded at the point of interruption, not at the division line.

I realize that NCAA rules may differ.

APG Sun Nov 06, 2011 05:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 797388)
Sure? Dead ball. Blue 5, and White 4, decide to have a profanity-laced debate. Official charges both with a flagrant technical fouls. It's a double foul so the ball is inbounded at the point of interruption, not at the division line.

I realize that NCAA rules may differ.

His point was all double fouls go to the POI...doesn't matter if it was a double technical foul.

JRutledge Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 797388)
Sure? Dead ball. Blue 5, and White 4, decide to have a profanity-laced debate. Official charges both with a flagrant technical fouls. It's a double foul so the ball is inbounded at the point of interruption, not at the division line.

I realize that NCAA rules may differ.

If you want to be honest just because kids have profanity does not mean it is flagrant in my book and never will be just because I hear a bad word (I can be a smart azz too).

Actually the NCAA rules are exactly the same in this area. APG pretty much got what I was saying.

Peace

BillyMac Mon Nov 07, 2011 07:08am

Daily Double ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 797429)
If you want to be honest just because kids have profanity does not mean it is flagrant in my book and never will be just because I hear a bad word.

OK. So instead, they swear at each other, and then both of them tell the official where to shove his whistle after they are both charged with a single technical foul. Two double technical fouls, ejections, point of interruption.

bob jenkins Mon Nov 07, 2011 09:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 797342)
Double flagrant technical foul ???

The OP clearly says "assuming a single foul."

BillyMac Tue Nov 08, 2011 06:58am

Rookie Mistake ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 797449)
The OP clearly says "assuming a single foul."

I wasn't commenting on the original post. I was commenting on this statement:

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 797058)
Tech=Div line opp the table

Personal=spot closest to where foul occured


Scrapper1 Tue Nov 08, 2011 07:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 797443)
OK. So instead, they swear at each other, and then both of them tell the official where to shove his whistle after they are both charged with a single technical foul. Two double technical fouls, ejections, point of interruption.

Not to nit-pick this to death, but the part in red is not a double foul because they didn't foul each other. That would be a simultaneous foul (which still goes to the POI).

BillyMac Tue Nov 08, 2011 07:19am

Get RIDŽ Of Lice ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 797543)
Not to nit-pick this to death, but the part in red is not a double foul because they didn't foul each other. That would be a simultaneous foul (which still goes to the POI).

Not nit-picking. Good point. Thanks.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1