The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Flagrant Fouls (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/82892-flagrant-fouls.html)

The_Rookie Wed Nov 02, 2011 02:29pm

Flagrant Fouls
 
Clarification On:

Flagrant TECHNICAL Foul versus Flagrant PERSONAL Foul?

Where would the ball be put in play? (Assuming a single foul)

bob jenkins Wed Nov 02, 2011 02:35pm

Where is the ball put in play for ANY technical foul or ANY personal foul that results in a throw-in?

Welpe Wed Nov 02, 2011 02:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 797053)
Where is the ball put in play for ANY technical foul or ANY personal foul that results in a throw-in?

Always listen to Bob.

The_Rookie Wed Nov 02, 2011 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 797053)
Where is the ball put in play for ANY technical foul or ANY personal foul that results in a throw-in?

Tech=Div line opp the table

Personal=spot closest to where foul occured

JRutledge Wed Nov 02, 2011 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 797058)
Tech=Div line opp the table

Personal=spot closest to where foul occured

That is your answer.

Peace

BillyMac Sun Nov 06, 2011 07:42am

Double Your Pleasure ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 797058)
Tech=Div line opp the table.

Double flagrant technical foul ???

JRutledge Sun Nov 06, 2011 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 797342)
Double flagrant technical foul ???

A technical foul has little to do with any double foul.

Peace

BillyMac Sun Nov 06, 2011 05:11pm

High School Rules ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 797382)
A technical foul has little to do with any double foul.

Sure? Dead ball. Blue 5, and White 4, decide to have a profanity-laced debate. Official charges both with a flagrant technical fouls. It's a double foul so the ball is inbounded at the point of interruption, not at the division line.

I realize that NCAA rules may differ.

APG Sun Nov 06, 2011 05:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 797388)
Sure? Dead ball. Blue 5, and White 4, decide to have a profanity-laced debate. Official charges both with a flagrant technical fouls. It's a double foul so the ball is inbounded at the point of interruption, not at the division line.

I realize that NCAA rules may differ.

His point was all double fouls go to the POI...doesn't matter if it was a double technical foul.

JRutledge Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 797388)
Sure? Dead ball. Blue 5, and White 4, decide to have a profanity-laced debate. Official charges both with a flagrant technical fouls. It's a double foul so the ball is inbounded at the point of interruption, not at the division line.

I realize that NCAA rules may differ.

If you want to be honest just because kids have profanity does not mean it is flagrant in my book and never will be just because I hear a bad word (I can be a smart azz too).

Actually the NCAA rules are exactly the same in this area. APG pretty much got what I was saying.

Peace

BillyMac Mon Nov 07, 2011 07:08am

Daily Double ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 797429)
If you want to be honest just because kids have profanity does not mean it is flagrant in my book and never will be just because I hear a bad word.

OK. So instead, they swear at each other, and then both of them tell the official where to shove his whistle after they are both charged with a single technical foul. Two double technical fouls, ejections, point of interruption.

bob jenkins Mon Nov 07, 2011 09:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 797342)
Double flagrant technical foul ???

The OP clearly says "assuming a single foul."

BillyMac Tue Nov 08, 2011 06:58am

Rookie Mistake ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 797449)
The OP clearly says "assuming a single foul."

I wasn't commenting on the original post. I was commenting on this statement:

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 797058)
Tech=Div line opp the table

Personal=spot closest to where foul occured


Scrapper1 Tue Nov 08, 2011 07:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 797443)
OK. So instead, they swear at each other, and then both of them tell the official where to shove his whistle after they are both charged with a single technical foul. Two double technical fouls, ejections, point of interruption.

Not to nit-pick this to death, but the part in red is not a double foul because they didn't foul each other. That would be a simultaneous foul (which still goes to the POI).

BillyMac Tue Nov 08, 2011 07:19am

Get RIDŽ Of Lice ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 797543)
Not to nit-pick this to death, but the part in red is not a double foul because they didn't foul each other. That would be a simultaneous foul (which still goes to the POI).

Not nit-picking. Good point. Thanks.

APG Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 797540)
I wasn't commenting on the original post. I was commenting on this statement:

And he was still correct..especially in the context of the original question. It was only you who started adding silly modifiers to the original question.

BillyMac Tue Nov 08, 2011 06:35pm

Do Not Commit This To Memory ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 797058)
Tech=Div line opp the table

Personal=spot closest to where foul occurred

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 797567)
And he was still correct..especially in the context of the original question. It was only you who started adding silly modifiers to the original question.

AllPurposeGamer: In regard to the original post, you are 100% correct.

However, I still believe that The_Rookie's statement (above), about where to inbound the ball, doesn't work in all cases, and should not be remembered, or memorized, as such, by rookie officials, or veteran officials, for that matter. I once worked with a veteran official, one of our finest, who wanted to inbound the ball at the division line, using the possession arrow, after a double technical foul.

JRutledge Wed Nov 09, 2011 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 797620)
AllPurposeGamer: In regard to the original post, you are 100% correct.

However, I still believe that The_Rookie's statement (above), about where to inbound the ball, doesn't work in all cases, and should not be remembered, or memorized, as such, by rookie officials, or veteran officials, for that matter. I once worked with a veteran official, one of our finest, who wanted to inbound the ball at the division line, using the possession arrow, after a double technical foul.

Then they need to read the rules on what we do on every single double foul (not associated with a false version of course) and what POI is. Also the college level rules are different and many people try to apply the college level rules to high school games. We can play the semantics game all day, but every Technical Foul goes to the division line after the FTs. I would not call a Technical Foul a Double Technical Foul.

Peace

BillyMac Wed Nov 09, 2011 06:49pm

After The Free throws ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 797713)
Every Technical Foul goes to the division line after the FTs.

Agreed. Sounds good to me.

If there are no free throws, then that's a different story, for another night. Goodnight moon.

And JRutledge, I would never try to comment on college level rules. I know more about paratransgenesis than I know about college level officiating.

JRutledge Wed Nov 09, 2011 07:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 797783)
I would never try to comment on college level rules. I know more about paratransgenesis than I know about college level officiating.

I think that is is necessary to be familiar with other levels and their rules so that when a coach or player questions a situation, you can be able to know how it is done at a different level. You do not have to be an expert, just be knowledgeable about some of the major rules to deflect the incorrect assumptions that others make about the rules at our level. I believe that is why there is a list at the end of the rulebook.

Peace

BillyMac Wed Nov 09, 2011 07:23pm

Did You Assume That I Didn't Know A Lot About Paratransgenesis ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 797789)
I think that is is necessary to be familiar with other levels and their rules so that when a coach or player questions a situation, you can be able to know how it is done at a different level. You do not have to be an expert, just be knowledgeable about some of the major rules to deflect the incorrect assumptions that others make about the rules at our level. I believe that is why there is a list at the end of the rulebook.

Agree. However, I thought that the list at the end of the rulebook was there to be utilized by officials that work both levels, as a quick reminder about what they're doing that particular night.

JRutledge Wed Nov 09, 2011 08:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 797794)
Agree. However, I thought that the list at the end of the rulebook was there to be utilized by officials that work both levels, as a quick reminder about what they're doing that particular night.

It is, but if I only worked HS then I would still want to know what some of the differences were as many of the comments from coaches are about the college level. I learned that early in my career when I would hear coaches want to count a basket on a PC foul.

Peace

BktBallRef Wed Nov 09, 2011 08:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 797620)
I once worked with a veteran official, one of our finest, who wanted to inbound the ball at the division line, using the possession arrow, after a double technical foul.

And once upon a time, he would have been correct.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1