The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 16, 2003, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
The thread which JefftheRef started concerning the penalties for all cases of intentional personal fouls made me think of a situation which one rarely sees, but occurred in this year's NCAA tournament. I don't recall which game.
On the first shot of a 1-and-1 free throw situation a foul was called on one of the players struggling for rebounding position along the lane. The free throw was made.
I was a bit surprised to see this call made and only recall making it myself once in seven years. I was happy to see the officials correctly administer the remaining free throw with the lane cleared and then penalize the foul. I don't recall whether they went to the other end and shot free throws or if that team was not yet in the penalty and was just awarded the ball OOB.
Okay, now I've never done ANY NCAA rules, including in any summer leagues, or anything, so I could be wrong here, but I thought in NCAA you wouldn't shoot the last 1-and-1 until the "new" foul was taken care of, and then go back to the POI and finisl. Or does that only apply to technicals?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1