The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2003, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
A scored off a possession that they had because the 1 and 1 wasn't shot. Now B has ball in hand, and we have to decide if the best thing is to award the 1 and 1 or to consider ball at disposal of B.

Had you originally known it was 1 and 1, you would have put A at the line and they would have been in a position to get 0-3 points (on average). In my experience, you can miss the front end and B get the rebound on the low end (0 points), or hit the front end, miss the second and get a quick putback on the normal high end (3 points). Granted, many other infinite possibilities exist, but in all the games I have had this year, this is the common range of expected results. If you think about all of your 1 and 1s in the past year, the average points scored is between 1 and 2.

Instead of giving the 1 and 1 (for and average of 1-2 points), you gave possession to A and they got more than what the average team achieves from a 1 and 1 by scoring a 3 point basket. So you are hardly hurting A if you do not grant them the 1 and 1 AFTER they already scored the 3 pointer. But are you violating the rules by doing so?

Even if A knows the correctable error rule, you aren't violating it because clearly you can consider ball to be at disposal as soon as it was picked up - many refs here say that they do. Even if you wouldn't normally consider it to be at disposal, this is a case where a little elastic might be nice. And if you think about the most even resolution for both teams, giving B the ball gives you that relatively fair resolution. And most coaches won't know the intricacies of correctable error, meaning that Team A coach will rarely argue for a 1 and 1 in place of a 3 (which is what most coaches would think the trade-off is). Coach B may be more upset not knowing that the option is giving A the 3 and the FTs.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1