The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 02, 2003, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
During the N.C. State / Marquette round one Men's NCAA game,
a player while making a throw-in from a designated spot,
moved both feet slightly. ( at most, 18 inches )
The official called a violation and gave the travelling
signal which I SAW AS WRONG ON BOTH COUNTS.
The limitation for such a player is that he/she keep one foot on or over the "spot" which extends three feet wide.
This allows the thrower to cover much territory and in fact very few coaches/players take advantage of this situation.
If however, a player does violate this limitation, the travel signal is the wrong one since the travel rule does not exist on a throw-in.
What is the proper mechanic ?
Did anyone else notice this situation ?
It happened one other time in the tournament, but the official used the
"running the baseline" signal.

How successful could a coach be in trying to correct such a
call ?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1