The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Game sitch (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/8050-game-sitch.html)

DrakeM Thu Mar 27, 2003 04:00am

Here's a game sitch from last night.

Team B is down by 4 in the 4th quarter, when with 1.7 seconds left,
B1 hits a 3 and is fouled. (don't ask me why A was EVEN defending the play):confused:

B1 makes the free throw, and game goes to overtime.
As both teams go to their benches, we notice a commotion, and the Coach of Team A is saying that #34B,has been playing
a good stretch of the 4th quarter with 5 fouls. (gotta love
parent score-keepers)

We handled it thusly.
We acknowledged that overtime WOULD be played. Assessed a technical which was shot by A1, then began OT using the resuming play procedure which allowed A to inbound the ball at midcourt.
By the way, game went to Double OT due to more mental infarctions by the A team. A FINALLY won in second OT.
Proper handling?
If not, feel free to pummel at will.:eek:
Drake

Mark Dexter Thu Mar 27, 2003 08:28am

No technical foul should be assessed - this can only be penalized if discovered while the player is violating the rule.



mick Thu Mar 27, 2003 08:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by DrakeM
...B1 makes the free throw, and game goes to overtime.
As both teams go to their benches, we notice a commotion, and the Coach of Team A is saying that #34B,has been playing
a good stretch of the 4th quarter with 5 fouls. (gotta love
parent score-keepers)

We handled it thusly.
We acknowledged that overtime WOULD be played. <u>Assessed a technical</u> which was shot by A1, then began OT using the resuming play procedure which allowed A to inbound the ball at midcourt....

Drake,
Assessed a technical for what?

R4-14-2: A player is officially disqualified and becomes bench personnel when the coach is notified by the official.

mick


DrakeM Thu Mar 27, 2003 09:16am

Ok.:o

However, I can just imagine the Coach's reaction had we just bagged the "T". Not that I care.:p

mick Thu Mar 27, 2003 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by DrakeM
Ok.:o

However, I can just imagine the Coach's reaction had we just bagged the "T". Not that I care.:p

Drake,
Yeah, I can understand why you did it, and it was probably "fair".
But, rules aside, even if we remember that #34B was in the game, can we show any proof, do we have positive knowledge, that he actually had 5 fouls as recorded by a poor scorekeeper?
'Tis a twisted web. :)
mick

rockyroad Thu Mar 27, 2003 12:38pm

That's a tough situation, but by rule the responses are correct...tell the irate coach he needs to have his own scorekeeper helping out in the future so it doesn't happen again!! The main problem, as I see it, will be shielding the volunteer scroekeeper from the wrath of the coach after you inform the coach there will be no T...

DrakeM Fri Mar 28, 2003 03:52am

Mick,
The scorekeeper actually had #34B with 5 IN THE BOOK!
The other thing is that neither my partner or I,could remember 34 scoring any points!
Here's another twist.
#1A Probably had AT LEAST 6 fouls against him! We recalled
3 fouls against him in the first half (we could have been wrong,but definite 2) , and AT least three in 2nd 1/2 and 2 OT's.

So it looks like shady going's on for both sides.
And this wasn't even a Championship game!
(8th grade AAU)

RookieDude Fri Mar 28, 2003 05:06am

Quote:

Originally posted by DrakeM
then began OT using the resuming play procedure which allowed A to inbound the ball at midcourt.
Hmmmm, I don't believe I have ever used the terminology, "resuming play procedure", in that context.

Also, Mark Dexter stated that the player could only be penalized "while violating the rule"...True, if the player had been notified that he/she had 5 fouls and then continued to play (Flagrant T)...but, if the player had not been notified that he/she had 5 fouls...then NO T.

RD

DrakeM Fri Mar 28, 2003 05:21am



By the way, let's change this rule. Go ahead, assess the "t", but then jump it up. Why penalize the offending team so severely?
Let's say we have a pre-game dunk. NF rules state that we begin the game with two free throws PLUS a mid-court throw in. Now let's say "A" inbounds the ball, shoots a successful 3, gets fouled, and makes the FT.
The pre-game dunk has now cost "B", 6 points.
Yeah, that's a fair penalty for a pre-game dunk!:rolleyes:

RookieDude Fri Mar 28, 2003 05:32am

Quote:

Originally posted by DrakeM


By the way, let's change this rule. Go ahead, assess the "t", but then jump it up. Why penalize the offending team so severely?
Let's say we have a pre-game dunk. NF rules state that we begin the game with two free throws PLUS a mid-court throw in. Now let's say "A" inbounds the ball, shoots a successful 3, gets fouled, and makes the FT.
The pre-game dunk has now cost "B", 6 points.
Yeah, that's a fair penalty for a pre-game dunk!:rolleyes:

Huh? Have you been drinking some of ROMANO'S wine? :p

I don't see how the "successful 3" and a foul has anything to do with the pre-game dunk.

RD

Nevadaref Fri Mar 28, 2003 05:35am

The pregame dunk cost them two points and losing the tip. That's all. The next three is due to either a good play by the scoring team or poor defense by the pregame dunking team, and the last point is for fouling someone. I don't see any of these last 4 points as due to the dunk.

DrakeM Fri Mar 28, 2003 05:40am

The last 4 points are the result of the OFFENDED team getting a throw in after shooting the FT's for the T.
6 points a direct result of a pre-game dunk!
Jump it up, maybe the other team gets the ball.

Nevadaref Fri Mar 28, 2003 05:43am

Last time I checked a team didn't get any points for a throw-in. :) But that's just the way I see it, Drake.
This is the same debate the NFL is currently having about their sudden-death OT. Some teams are saying that they are losing the game as a result of losing the coin flip.
Ever heard of playing defense? They pay those guys on the defensive side of the ball a lot of money too. So make a defensive play and stop them from scoring.

[Edited by Nevadaref on Mar 28th, 2003 at 04:49 AM]

DrakeM Fri Mar 28, 2003 05:45am

:confused::confused::confused:

DrakeM Fri Mar 28, 2003 05:48am

Let me rephrase that.
The offended team scored 4 points because of a play that resulted from possession due to the pre-game dunk.
(that's much clearer right?):rolleyes:;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1