Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Mar 26, 2003, 05:38am
Official Forum Member

http://www.sltrib.com/2003/Mar/03262...orts/41924.asp
Old Wed Mar 26, 2003, 05:58am
Official Forum Member

This gentleman did a wonderful thing to help this parent. That said, he probably should not have been on the field. Looking at the picture of him, he is likely in his late fifties or early sixties and has already had one heart attack on the field during a game.
As an association assignor I would not take the risk to put him out there again after such a problem. As a friend or family member, I would counsel him not to being undertaking such a strenuous activity. Lastly, as an insurance broker, I would not provide coverage to any association that has an official which has had such a problem.
This last point is probably why the insurance rates for officials have skyrocketed and most associations are unable to provide coverage for their members.
Old Wed Mar 26, 2003, 09:45am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
That said, he probably should not have been on the field. Looking at the picture of him, he is likely in his late fifties or early sixties and has already had one heart attack on the field during a game.
So what your saying is that it is not possible for someone to get back in to very good physical shape after a heart attack... I know several people who have suffered heart attacks and have come back to run marathons and perform other physical activities.

There are many other causes such as defects, blockages etc. that can cause heart attacks that are not releated to physical activity. These can be corrected and the person can go on to live a normal healthy active life.

I looked at the picture as well and he appears to be in good physical condition...
Old Wed Mar 26, 2003, 10:02am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref