The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 24, 2003, 07:15pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Cornellref
NFHS: A1 drives by defender B1 into the lane and is pushed from behind by B1 as he attempts a shot. The Trail raises his arm and whistles for a pushing foul on B1. A1 is in the act of shooting so there is continuation. However, the push causes A1 to go harder toward the basket. A1 charges into B2 right after the shot is released. The lead raises his arm and whistles, since he has a player control foul on A1, and makes eye contact with the Trail. The ball goes in. Assume that the Lead did not see the push by B1. What is the correct procedure?
The trail and the lead have to get together and decide whether the push by B1 caused the charge by A1.
1)If they decide that the push caused the charge,the lead should cancel his call.You end up with a foul on B1,count the basket,and A1 gets 1 shot.
2)If they decide that the push didn't cause the charge,then when the charge occurs,the ball will become dead immediately,and the shot won't count.B1 and A1 will both be charged with fouls,but A1 will now get 2 FT's for being fouled in the act of shooting.
3)If the officials can't decide if the push called the charge,both calls stand and you go to #2 above.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Mar 25th, 2003 at 03:08 AM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1