The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 21, 2003, 09:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8
3-foot box

Ok, I looked up the rules last night in both rulebooks.
Here's what they say. For those of you with books handy, I've referenced the rules below:
NCAA: Rule 9-2.4 Art. 1 says that the thrower-in shall not
a.) Leave a designated spot.
Definition of a designated spot: Rule 4-15 A
designated spot shall be 3 feet wide with no depth
limitaion.
The NFHS Rule Book essentially reads the same (Rule 7-6 Art.2) as the NCAA rule. The definition of the designated throw-in spot has a note included. Rule 4-41 Art. 6 NOTE: "The thrower must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released. Pivot-foot restrictions and the traveling rule are not in effect for a throw-in."

I know that the traveling siganl was wrong (and therefore confuses the aveage fan, coach, and announcer.) So, I guess the question is, since the NCAA Rulebook doesn't have the 'NOTE', does the thrower-in have to keep both feet in the box? (There aren't any mentions in the handy 'rule differences' charts in that can be found in the back of the NFHS Rules book or the CCA Officiating Manual.)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1