The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 18, 2003, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by GregAlan
Team A is at the line and Player A1 makes his second free throw. This happened the other day at a men's adult rec league, and we play by high school rules.

After the 2nd free-throw, which is made, team A calls a time-out, even through team B is taking the ball out of bounds. Is this proper? When can't a time-out be called, only after a made basket by the non-inbounding team?

Later in the same game, same setup, Team A makes its second free-throw after a shooting foul. Team B is taking the ball out of bounds. The coach from Team A yells "Sub" (yes, we're very state-of-the-art in this league), and my partner allows the substitution. The coach from Team B argues this is improper as they are taking the ball out of bounds. Is this proper or not?

Thanks for your attention to this question.

Greg

Depends on what you mean by "Team B is taking the ball out". If B clearly has started the throw-in then it's too late in both cases. Otherwise proper and common procedure to call a timeout or sub after the last made free throw. Complication is exactly when the throw-in starts is more-or-less a judgement call. If B has the ball & is heading out of bounds for the throw-in I'll grant the timeout or bring in the sub, usually.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1