The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 02, 2000, 02:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 147
Send a message via ICQ to Alaska Ref
Lightbulb

I believe Rainmaker has it right!

The jumpers can not establish "control" until a couple of things happen---Ball hits the floor, a non-jumper or the backboard. It's a violation but some are saying you have to have "control" to violate.

Question: A-1 is standing with one foot on the sideline, the ball becomes loose and hits A-1 (who causes the ball to be "out of bounds") a violation by rule, but did A-1 have control? If jumper A-1 taps the ball out of bounds team B gets the ball for a throw-in and the "first possession" and establish's the Alternating Possession sequence, but did the jumper have control?

Walter's sequence has to deal with a violation after control has been established, back court, traveling or double dribble, because team A control has been established the arrow goes to team B, and when A-2 violates, team B get's the ball for a throw-in, but does not loose the possession arrow.

Hammerhoops, by asking quetions like this, it forces debate and that makes us referees better at this great game. Keep'em coming!

Good luck in the upcomming season.

------------------
Don
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1