The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 28, 2000, 09:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 25
Post

quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett:
Mark Dexter is exactly right. If an official makes a mistake and grants a timeout to a team when that team did not have the right to be granted one, then you give it to them but you don't change the possession of the ball.

Here's a nightmare I had about 5 years ago. I was training a younger official in a JV level game. Team B just stole the ball and was heading the other way when he granted a timeout to team A because one of their players requested it. Guess what? Team A was out of timeouts at the time! This was in the last two minutes of a three point game (team A ahead).

Let's use this as a discussion topic. What would you have done? What do you think I did (knowing I like to stick to the letter of the rules most every time).

BTW - Jose, PLEASE DON'T SHOUT. Thank you.

[This message has been edited by Mark Padgett (edited August 28, 2000).]



thanks mark i thhink what you have to do is if you call the time out grant team A the time out give them a "T" let team b shoot 2 and give team b the ball.

------------------

Allways trying to get better!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1