The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   You Make The Call (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/76118-you-make-call.html)

Raymond Mon Aug 01, 2011 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFear2020 (Post 777035)
Okay, Rule 4-41 tells us when the act of shooting starts. Rule 4-23 tells us how to guard and obtain LGP, LGP can not be obtain after the shooter was started the act of shooting.

I don't have any books with me.

Could you please quote me word for word which rule says LGP cannot be obtained after the shooter has begun the act of shooting? I've never read that.

NoFear2020 Mon Aug 01, 2011 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 777032)
And? :confused: I feel like I most be speaking another language because this rule is so simply as to not need the 20 or so responses we've had to it.

The whole reason we have rule 4-41 and the act of shooting defined is because we have rule 4-11 that deals with continuous motion that tells us a try will count if an offensive player is fouled during the act of shooting. Nowhere does any of the guarding rules mention the act of shooting/try. All the guarding rules have told us is if a player has the ball, a defender has to obtain LGP before the player is airborne. Nothing more, nothing less.

Thanks?
I am still maintaining what i have from the start. B1 did not have LGP.

Raymond Mon Aug 01, 2011 03:01pm

I have never read that a defender must establish LGP before a shooter begins his shooting motion. I have always thought it must be established before A1 gets airborne. I've been wrong all these years? If so I would really appreciate a word-for-word citation so I can stand corrected.

Here is the college rule, I guess HS rules are different in regards to airborne shooters :confused:

Rule 4-35:
Art. 4. To establish an initial legal guarding position on the player with the
ball:
a. The guard shall have both feet touching the playing court. When the guard jumps into position initially, both feet must return to the playing court after the jump, for the guard to attain a guarding position.
b. The guard’s torso shall face the opponent.
c. No time and distance shall be required.
d. When the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard shall have attained legal position before the opponent left the playing court.Exception: (Men) Rule 4-35.7

Art. 5. To establish legal guarding position on a player without the ball:
a. Time and distance shall be required to attain an initial legal position;
b. The guard shall give the opponent the time and distance to avoid
contact;
c. The distance given by the opponent of the player without the ball need not be more than two strides; and
d. When the opponent is airborne, the guard shall have attained legal position before the opponent left the playing court.

Adam Mon Aug 01, 2011 03:06pm

The only rules that apply to defending an airborne opponent are 4-23-4 and 4-23-5. What youre missing is anything that ties LGP to the shooting motion. You cant just find two separate rules and combine them on a whim.

APG Mon Aug 01, 2011 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFear2020 (Post 777035)
Okay, Rule 4-41 tells us when the act of shooting starts. Rule 4-23 tells us how to guard and obtain LGP, LGP can not be obtain after the shooter was started the act of shooting.

4-23 Guadring

ART. 1...Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent....

Now how does a defender legally place the body in the path of an offensive player?

ART 2...To obtain an initial legal guarding position:
a. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court.
b. The front of the guard's torso must be facing the opponent.

Now when does a guard have to obtain LGP?

ART 4...Guarding an opponent with the ball or stationary opponent without the ball:
a. No time or distance is required to obtain an initial legal position.
b. If the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard must have obtained legal position before the opponent left the floor.

ART. 5... Guarding a moving opponent without the ball:
a. Time and distance are factors required to obtain an initial legal position.
d. If the opponent is airborne, the guard must have obtained legal position before the opponent left the floor.

That's is. In the section that deals with defining guarding, nowhere do you find the act of shooting.

APG Mon Aug 01, 2011 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFear2020 (Post 777038)
Thanks?
I am still maintaining what i have from the start. B1 did not have LGP.

I'm not speaking specifically about this play. I'm talking about your general statement that a defender must obtain a legal position before the ball is gathered which is incorrect.

JugglingReferee Mon Aug 01, 2011 03:36pm

No call from me. Great offensive move; inadequate defensive move.

tref Mon Aug 01, 2011 03:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 777056)
No call from me. Great offensive move; inadequate defensive move.

Out of curiousity, is inadequate a synonym for marginal or incidental?

JugglingReferee Mon Aug 01, 2011 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 777062)
Out of curiousity, is inadequate a synonym for marginal or incidental?

You choose which one.

tref Mon Aug 01, 2011 04:14pm

To me it can only apply to marginal, because there is nothing incidental about an airborne shooter not being able to land safely because of something the defender did.

Adam Mon Aug 01, 2011 05:22pm

I see inadequate here as meaning the defence wasn't doing enough to be legal.

JugglingReferee Tue Aug 02, 2011 05:00am

I did what someone earlier suggested: to look at the video using YouTube's website, and not the embedded clip that was posted. I then could watch the video in full screen. Yes, the quality becomes a bit blurry, but it is still "clear enough".

There was no contact to warrant a PC. Anyone that calls a PC in this case is flat out wrong. And yes, that includes the official making the call on the floor. Even if that same action earlier in the game was a PC, it is still wrong to call this a PC here for consistency reasons; it is better to make 1 error than 2.

Furthermore, the only possible contact I see is best shown in the 2nd angle - which is that of A1's foot to B1's knee/leg which is outside of B1's frame.

Just before the feet exit the picture (cameraman wanted to get the ball and it's path), you can see A1's foot moving in a unnatural way. I don't believe that A1 would move his foot in this manner voluntarily, which leads me to a blocking call.

If there was in fact contact in the location that I mentioned, then the correct call is a block. If not, a no call is the correct call. I change my call to a block. But calling a PC is an egregious error.

So yes, inadequate defense by B meaning he didn't do enough to draw a PC foul or a no call. Furthermore, he did do enough to warrant a blocking call.

tref Tue Aug 02, 2011 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 777194)
Even if that same action earlier in the game was a PC, it is still wrong to call this a PC here for consistency reasons; it is better to make 1 error than 2.


No doubt!

I always say, "when I kick one tonight, please dont mimic that call for consistency sake. No need for the crew to be consistently wrong."

BillyMac Tue Aug 02, 2011 06:44pm

Consistency ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 777264)
No need for the crew to be consistently wrong.

Why not? At least the crew is consistent. Isn't that an important part of officiating basketball? We try to be consistently right, and when that fails, we strive to be consistency wrong. As long as we're consistent? Right?

APG Tue Aug 02, 2011 07:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 777368)
Why not? At least the crew is consistent. Isn't that an important part of officiating basketball? We try to be consistently right, and when that fails, we strive to be consistency wrong. As long as we're consistent? Right?

I have no idea if you're being serious or not...

JugglingReferee Tue Aug 02, 2011 07:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 777374)
I have no idea if you're being serious or not...

I'm pretty sure that BM is being sarcastic. He knows that coaches know that we strive for consistency because this is a paramount goal to officiating from both the coaching and officiating perspective. Coaches that I've spoken to regarding the topic of "lowering our error rates", which would in fact increase inconsistency, rarely understand said topic - or at least need much more dialogue about how that topic works. Billy understands this, and his comment was likely tongue in cheek.

NoFear2020 Tue Aug 02, 2011 08:55pm

Philosophy
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 777053)
I'm not speaking specifically about this play. I'm talking about your general statement that a defender must obtain a legal position before the ball is gathered which is incorrect.

I am going to try this out this season.:cool:

Philosophy: General statement the defender must obtain a legal position before the ball is gathered.

Since gathering the ball is the motion that precedes the release of the ball, making this a try, and that the opposite of legal position is illegal position, makes this an easy one for me.




Rule 4-41-3. The try starts when the player begins the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball.

This means that, as soon as a player gathers the ball, on say a layup, the shot has started and s/he is in the act of shooting.

Rule 4-23-2. To obtain an initial legal guarding positon.
a. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court.
b. The front of the guard’s torso must be facing the opponent.

This means that the defender must do these things before the offence starts the try in order to be legal.

Situation:

A1 dribbling/attacking the basket @ top of 3pt circle gets by his defender B1,
A1 dribbles left to the left baseline, like a layup drill.
A1 ended dribble (by gathering the ball) with 2feet off playing court just inside the 3pt. line, A1 is in the act of shooting.
@ Same time B2, who is guarding A2 on right block, sees A1 going to the basket.
@ This exact moment B2 is by rule guarding B2 and is not, and has not established legal guarding position on A1.

B2 has not obtained LGP on A1, before A1 started the attempt to throw for goal (in the act of shooting.) Any illegal contact by B2 that adversely affects A1s rhythm, speed, balance or quickness should be called a foul.

If B2 steps into A1 path now and causes contact it must, by rule be considered illegal.

Because A1 ended the dribble with 2feet in the air s/he may come down with 2 very long strides and dunk, and unless a defender was on the playing court and in A1 path before A1 was in the act of shooting, contact must be illegal.

bob jenkins Tue Aug 02, 2011 09:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFear2020 (Post 777391)
I am going to try this out this season.:cool:

Now you're just acting troll-like.

Quote:

Philosophy: General statement the defender must obtain a legal position before the ball is gathered.
Wrong

Quote:

Since gathering the ball is the motion that precedes the release of the ball, making this a try, and that the opposite of legal position is illegal position, makes this an easy one for me.
All of that is true, but has nothing to do with LGP.




Quote:

Rule 4-41-3. The try starts when the player begins the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball.

This means that, as soon as a player gathers the ball, on say a layup, the shot has started and s/he is in the act of shooting.
Yes, but again, nothing about LGP

Quote:

Rule 4-23-2. To obtain an initial legal guarding positon.
a. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court.
b. The front of the guard’s torso must be facing the opponent.

This means that the defender must do these things before the offence starts the try in order to be legal.
No it doesn't. Your "logic" doesn't follow. It just meansd that the defnender must do thiese things before contact (or before the player becomes airborne). Read the "time and distance" requirements -- they have NOTHING to do with whether a try is even involved in the play.

Kelvin green Tue Aug 02, 2011 09:12pm

Dude give it up!

You cannot support your premise. Stop trying to defend it...
The provision in the rule is

b. If the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard must have obtained legal position before the opponent left the floor.

It does not say started the gather, it does not say started act of shooting, it states before left the floor. This is consistent with the fact that anyone is entitled to a spot if they get there first. Once airborne the spot to land has been decided...

The dribbled must be in control and if gathering may still get the step. It is assumed that a player in control can change directions and avoid good defense. Do not penalize good defense because of this philosophical nonsense.

Adam Tue Aug 02, 2011 09:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFear2020 (Post 777391)
Rule 4-41-3. The try starts when the player begins the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball.

This means that, as soon as a player gathers the ball, on say a layup, the shot has started and s/he is in the act of shooting.

So far so good, but you probably should have stopped here.

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFear2020 (Post 777391)
Rule 4-23-2. To obtain an initial legal guarding positon.
a. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court.
b. The front of the guard’s torso must be facing the opponent.

This means that the defender must do these things before the offence starts the try in order to be legal.

Okay, you should look up the phrase "non sequitur." You can't quote two separate rules and assume there's some connection. There isn't. You may as well quote the traveling rule and try to argue that the defender can't move his pivot foot after obtaining LGP. Your premise just doesn't follow from quoting these two rules, you haven't quoted anything that tells you to combine them, because it's not there.

Further, you're completely ignoring the repeatedly quoted applicable rule; 4-23-4b.
Quote:

if the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard must have obtained legal position before the opponent left the floor.

Raymond Tue Aug 02, 2011 09:26pm

This guy is a troll. In his very first post he said he was working a NCAA Division 2 basketball game.

Now he doesn't know that LGP must be obtained prior to the offensive player going airborne.

Being as he was supposedly working a D2 game my rules citation should apply to him yet he is ignoring it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 777039)
I have never read that a defender must establish LGP before a shooter begins his shooting motion. I have always thought it must be established before A1 gets airborne. I've been wrong all these years? If so I would really appreciate a word-for-word citation so I can stand corrected.

Here is the college rule, I guess HS rules are different in regards to airborne shooters :confused:

Rule 4-35:
Art. 4. To establish an initial legal guarding position on the player with the
ball:
a. The guard shall have both feet touching the playing court. When the guard jumps into position initially, both feet must return to the playing court after the jump, for the guard to attain a guarding position.
b. The guard’s torso shall face the opponent.
c. No time and distance shall be required.
d. When the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard shall have attained legal position before the opponent left the playing court.Exception: (Men) Rule 4-35.7

Art. 5. To establish legal guarding position on a player without the ball:
a. Time and distance shall be required to attain an initial legal position;
b. The guard shall give the opponent the time and distance to avoid
contact;
c. The distance given by the opponent of the player without the ball need not be more than two strides; and
d. When the opponent is airborne, the guard shall have attained legal position before the opponent left the playing court.

So my verdict is that he is a TROLL.

NoFear2020 Tue Aug 02, 2011 09:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 777039)
I have never read that a defender must establish LGP before a shooter begins his shooting motion. I have always thought it must be established before A1 gets airborne. I've been wrong all these years? If so I would really appreciate a word-for-word citation so I can stand corrected.

Here is the college rule, I guess HS rules are different in regards to airborne shooters :confused:

Rule 4-35:
Art. 4. To establish an initial legal guarding position on the player with the
ball:
a. The guard shall have both feet touching the playing court. When the guard jumps into position initially, both feet must return to the playing court after the jump, for the guard to attain a guarding position.
b. The guard’s torso shall face the opponent.
c. No time and distance shall be required.
d. When the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard shall have attained legal position before the opponent left the playing court.Exception: (Men) Rule 4-35.7

Art. 5. To establish legal guarding position on a player without the ball:
a. Time and distance shall be required to attain an initial legal position;
b. The guard shall give the opponent the time and distance to avoid
contact;
c. The distance given by the opponent of the player without the ball need not be more than two strides; and
d. When the opponent is airborne, the guard shall have attained legal position before the opponent left the playing court.

Thanks for the college rule,
d. [B]When the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard shall have attained legal position before the opponent left the playing court.

I am not Interpreting this as an airborne shooter, for airborne shooter i will use rule 4-71

The criteria for when a shoot begins (rule 4-71-3) and as you have already posted guarding (4-35) are clear to me.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Aug 02, 2011 09:29pm

I have not done a lot of posting this summer but I have making an effort to read the threads. And I would like to thank all of the posters who have taken NoFear to task regarding his non-sensical reading of the rules regarding guarding, screening, and act-of-shooting/try. Great job guys.

MTD, Sr.

Adam Tue Aug 02, 2011 09:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFear2020 (Post 777399)
Thanks for the college rule,
d. [B]When the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard shall have attained legal position before the opponent left the playing court.

I am not Interpreting this as an airborne shooter, for airborne shooter i will use rule 4-71

The criteria for when a shoot begins (rule 4-71-3) and as you have already posted guarding (4-35) are clear to me.

That's your problem. Stop interpreting the rule and just read the d@mned thing. When the shot begins only matters if there is a defensive foul during the interval beginning at the start of the shot and ending with the release of the shot. Determining whether it's a foul is done separately, this rule does not help in that issue; it's only purpose is to determine whether a shot should count when a foul is called.

Finally, you really should listen to the experienced officials on here. The combined officiating experience of the officials who have told you you're wrong on here exceeds the combined ages of your graduating high school class. If you don't believe us, take your ridiculous interpretation and philosophy to the local association leadership.

Adam Tue Aug 02, 2011 09:56pm

Finally, NoFear, you should consider this situation:

A1 gathers his dribble on the run, in the air. He lands on his left foot and jumps, landing on both feet (legal jump stop). B1 sets up between the landing spot and the basket, right before A1 changes direction and jumps directly into B1's chest (knocking both players to the floor).

Your philosophy and interp would have you calling a block on this play, and you would be the only official I've ever met who'd call it that way.

NoFear2020 Tue Aug 02, 2011 09:57pm

Interpreting
 
Thanks for the feedback, but there is no need to get personal just because I disagree with you.

Thank you.

NoFear2020 Tue Aug 02, 2011 09:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 777404)
Finally, NoFear, you should consider this situation:

A1 gathers his dribble on the run, in the air. He lands on his left foot and jumps, landing on both feet (legal jump stop). B1 sets up between the landing spot and the basket, right before A1 changes direction and jumps directly into B1's chest (knocking both players to the floor).

Your philosophy and interp would have you calling a block on this play, and you would be the only official I've ever met who'd call it that way.

This what the video is almost showing.

Adam Wed Aug 03, 2011 12:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFear2020 (Post 777407)
This what the video is almost showing.

No, it's not. The video is a block, but not remotely for the reason you propose. And yes, the reasoning matters, otherwise one could cone up with all sorts of stupid rulings.

NoFear2020 Wed Aug 03, 2011 03:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 777403)
That's your problem. Stop interpreting the rule and just read the d@mned thing. When the shot begins only matters if there is a defensive foul during the interval beginning at the start of the shot and ending with the release of the shot. Determining whether it's a foul is done separately, this rule does not help in that issue; it's only purpose is to determine whether a shot should count when a foul is called.

Finally, you really should listen to the experienced officials on here. The combined officiating experience of the officials who have told you you're wrong on here exceeds the combined ages of your graduating high school class. If you don't believe us, take your ridiculous interpretation and philosophy to the local association leadership.

So i read this [B]d. When the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard shall have attained legal position before the opponent left the playing court. and my problem is i do not infer airborne shooter, but you want my to infer that it does:confused:?

No disrespect to all the experienced officials on here, but after i do the math i come up with a number 2600 years:confused:.

I feel that your upset and have taken what i said as a personal attack:mad:, please don't. My intention is to always keep improving. I have been visiting this site since about 1997, but only recently started posting, as a discussion board i feel that i can express my opinions freely, if name call is the end result of difference of opinion then i will have to remember that:o.
Once again thank you all experienced officials and not so experienced ones:).

NoFear2020 Wed Aug 03, 2011 03:43am

Name calling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 777398)
This guy is a troll. In his very first post he said he was working a NCAA Division 2 basketball game.

Now he doesn't know that LGP must be obtained prior to the offensive player going airborne.

Being as he was supposedly working a D2 game my rules citation should apply to him yet he is ignoring it.



So my verdict is that he is a TROLL.

Real big of you to resort to name calling.:mad:

I do less than a dozen D2 games a year probably not enough to claim D2 status:eek:, I will remove this from my profile.:(

BillyMac Wed Aug 03, 2011 06:42am

How Do You Post That Roll Eyes Smilie Thing ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 777377)
I'm pretty sure that BM is being sarcastic.

What? There is absolutely, positively, no place for sarcasm on the Forum. Never has been sarcasm on the Forum. Never will be sarcasm on the Forum. Even a slight hint at sarcasm would take away from the intellectual purity of the Forum.

“Sarcasm is the language of the devil, for which reason I have long since as good as renounced it.” (Thomas Carlyle, Scottish Historian and Essayist, 1795-1881)

Adam Wed Aug 03, 2011 07:20am

You shouldn't infer anything. The wording is clear and inference isn't necessary. It doesn't distinguish between a player who is shooting and one who isn't.

Raymond Wed Aug 03, 2011 07:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFear2020 (Post 777482)
Real big of you to resort to name calling.:mad:

I do less than a dozen D2 games a year probably not enough to claim D2 status:eek:, I will remove this from my profile.:(

If you are working D2 games you should know what " the guard shall have attained legal position before the opponent left the playing court" means without have to infer anything.

bob jenkins Wed Aug 03, 2011 08:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 777403)
your graduating high school class

You're assuming facts not in evidence.

bob jenkins Wed Aug 03, 2011 08:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFear2020 (Post 777480)
So i read this [B]d. When the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard shall have attained legal position before the opponent left the playing court. and my problem is i do not infer airborne shooter, but you want my to infer that it does:confused:?

It applies to any player who leaves the floor, whether he's a shooter or not. That player is then allowed to land (assuming the landing spot was not legally occupied when he left the floor, etc.)

And, when it applies to a shooter, it applies WHEN THE PLAYER LEAVES THE FLOOR, not when the player begins his try.

tref Wed Aug 03, 2011 09:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFear2020 (Post 777480)
I have been visiting this site since about 1997, but only recently started posting, as a discussion board i feel that i can express my opinions freely...

Since '97?!?!?! You're a vet, you should know the drill :eek:
Expressing flat out wrong "opinions" about a RULE will get you smacked around every time. If one chooses to be stubborn after being hit with rule/casebook references... you being around since '97 & all, should know that the degree of smacks always increase. And the people that generally do the smacking haven't even chimed in.
Its only because we are in the off-season that you got this much play!

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFear2020 (Post 776644)
In slow motion we can see that at about 0:10 the offensives player has gathered the ball which is the start of the habitual shooting motion and the defensive player is still moving. Block! ;)

Right after you made THAT comment (correct ruling but not for the right reasons) Billy was nice to you, I was nice to you, Snaqs was nice to you. You have been combining rules ever since, trying to defend your incorrect position. You know, sorta like the guy that calls travel on designated spot throw-ins :rolleyes:
Yeah, its a violation but not because of a travel.
All you had to do was eat it, learn from it & move on. If this is how you judge block/charge plays then I'm sure you very rarely reward anybody for good defense. One has gotta be there pretty quick in your ballgames :D
If I'm the coach & I see you walk in the arena, I'm telling my players "when he's on the baseline dont take any charges tonight & drive right through the defense."

*Hint-Hint* Good coaches, figure out what their dealing with & adjust their squads accordingly... they dont try to change calls or simply complain about the officiating.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 777536)
If you are working D2 games you should know what " the guard shall have attained legal position before the opponent left the playing court" means without have to infer anything.

Location, location, location...

BillyMac Wed Aug 03, 2011 05:19pm

You Ain't Seen Nothing Yet ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFear2020 (Post 777482)
Real big of you to resort to name calling.

Name calling? Just wait until Jurassic Referee returns from his sabbatical. You'll hear names you've never heard before. Names that drunken sailors have never heard before. Names that Bobby Knight has never heard before. Be afraid. Be very afraid.

Pantherdreams Wed Aug 03, 2011 05:38pm

This is ridiculous based on NoFear's logic, defense must determine the path of attacking player and position themselves prior to the ball being gathered and a the offense picking a path.

Defense can either not help on drive's ever in his games or they have ESP.

Brad Thu Aug 04, 2011 10:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 776919)
Absofreakinglutely, call it like it is Brad!

An important factor that hasn't been brought up is the team officiating concept. I think its safe to say that 80% of us say its not a p/c. The more important piece would be "why" was it ruled incorrectly?

Lead didn't have a great position and got surprised -- simple as that.

We miss calls for two reasons: Out of position and lack of concentration. This one was both.

Rich Thu Aug 04, 2011 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brad (Post 777877)
Lead didn't have a great position and got surprised -- simple as that.

We miss calls for two reasons: Out of position and lack of concentration. This one was both.

I have always liked Jim Evans's line. Yes, he is a baseball umpire, but his words apply equally to any sport:

"Surprise is the umpire's biggest enemy." Substitute "official's" for "umpire's".


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1