The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 22, 2003, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Just to be absolutely clear...

Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
And after that, he can pass, shoot, or jump off both feet. If he lifts one foot before the other, it's a travel.
You're right for a dribble, but not a pass or shot. Here's the rule reference (NCAA):

Rule 4, Section 65. Traveling
Art. 5. After coming to a stop when neither foot can be the pivot foot:
a. One or both feet may be lifted, but may not be returned to the playing
court, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal;
b. Neither foot shall be lifted, before the ball is released, to start a dribble.

[Edited by Lotto on Feb 23rd, 2003 at 05:38 AM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1