The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel vs Hop Step????? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/7595-travel-vs-hop-step.html)

bludevil1221 Fri Feb 21, 2003 12:26pm

Someone please help me understand and define a hop step. This has become so popular and is it a travel? From my understanding the player must come down on both feet at the same time and then either release a shot or pass before taking another step. I dunno....I usually call it traveling if the player drives the lanes does the hop step thing...Then the coach proceeds to give me the "What did he do? look. Some clarification please.

ChuckElias Fri Feb 21, 2003 12:30pm

Read up on the traveling rule: 4-43-2-a.3 and 4-43-2-b.2. Also see case 4.43.2

Hope that helps!

Chuck

cmckenna Fri Feb 21, 2003 12:33pm

Come down from what ??? Recieveing a pass??? If that's the case and he comes down on both feet at the same time then he has not established a pivot foot. Either foot may become the pivot.

bludevil1221 Fri Feb 21, 2003 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by cmckenna
Come down from what ???
No...Off the dribble, to the basket.

bob jenkins Fri Feb 21, 2003 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bludevil1221
Quote:

Originally posted by cmckenna
Come down from what ???
No...Off the dribble, to the basket.

It depends.

If the player is in the air when s/he ends the dribble and lands on both feet, either may be the pivot.

If the player is in the air when s/he ends the dribble and lands on one foot, the player may jump off that foot and land on both simultaneously. Neither may be the pivot.

If the player ends the dribble on one foot, the player may jump off that foot and land with both feet simultaneously. Neither may be the pivot.


Jeremy Hohn Sat Feb 22, 2003 01:31am

..couldn't have said it better myself...

Adam Sat Feb 22, 2003 02:09am

And after that, he can pass, shoot, or jump off both feet. If he lifts one foot before the other, it's a travel.


Lotto Sat Feb 22, 2003 10:06am

Just to be absolutely clear...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
And after that, he can pass, shoot, or jump off both feet. If he lifts one foot before the other, it's a travel.

You're right for a dribble, but not a pass or shot. Here's the rule reference (NCAA):

Rule 4, Section 65. Traveling
Art. 5. After coming to a stop when neither foot can be the pivot foot:
a. One or both feet may be lifted, but may not be returned to the playing
court, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal;
b. Neither foot shall be lifted, before the ball is released, to start a dribble.

[Edited by Lotto on Feb 23rd, 2003 at 05:38 AM]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1