The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 17, 2003, 07:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by GregAlan
At a girls' YMCA game on Saturday (we follow HS rules), offensive team has ball for throw-in at mid-court, player A1 can't find anyone in frontcourt to throw the ball toward, so her coach yells, "Throw it into the backcourt!", which she does just before the 5 second count is up, and player A2 (teammate) heads toward the backcourt from her own frontcourt, with one of her feet still in her own frontcourt, and grabs the ball in backcourt. The ball had already hit the floor in the backcourt with A2's one foot still in frontcourt. Is this a violation? Or a no call? Thanks for any clear answers.
More information is needed here.

Where exactly were A2's feet when A2 gained control of the ball? (Not just touched the ball, but gained control---holding or dribbling the ball inbounds.) What happened after A2 gained control?

If you answer those two questions, I can tell you whether this was a backcourt violation. Without a clearer sequence of events, it could go either way.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1