Visiting scorekeeper comes to us after the first period and says that #10 for the home team wasn't in her book, but #11 was, who wasn't on the bench. We went over and looked at the home book, and sure enough, #11 had clearly been changed to #10. We asked when, and she said right after the game started. We debated what to do, in the end issued the T, started the 2nd Q with the shots, and the ball to V, and the game went on.
Home ex-AD comes and argues with us the entire half-time. Home book comes down and says she called her husband and asked him, and he said we shouldn't have issued the T, since we hadn't known it when it was changed. It took a few minutes to discover that her husband was a ref, so of course he ought to know.
Now I'm looking through the books, and I think we goofed, but I don't like the set up. If home wants to change their books, they can? I mean, all she has to do is not tell us, and then when visiting book gets the jist, it's too late to penalize? What am I missing here? When she looks askance at us for enforcing, do I give her a lecture about cheating? I don't think so!
Rule and Case references I'm looking at are 10-1-2c, and 10.1.2 Situation (b), which ends up with, "The foul must be charged when it occurs and enforced when the ball next becomes live. Once the ball has become live, it is too late to penalize."
|