The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 05, 2003, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 53
Clock

According to rule 5.10, a referee may only correct the time on the clock if he/she has definite knowledge of the correct time remaining. The official may use a count (such as a 5 second closely guarded count or 10 second back court count) to help in determining the correct time.

The case book also notes that the official must give the timer "lag" time to stop the clock. According to the book, one second is considered lag time. So if the clock should have been stopped at 5 seconds and it shows 4.1 seconds, no correction should be made.

What differs your case from the case book example is that the clock is stopped, then started and stopped again. In the case book, they refer to plays where the clock was already in motion. Tough call, but you probably have to consider that the lag time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1