The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 05, 2003, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by RecRef
So in your eyes it is OK to force ones way through a "1 Foot" space, cause the contact which forces one OOB and not call a PC? If it is OK for you, so be it but it is not OK for me.
All I can do is ask you to re-read my post that you quoted. If the defender is not displaced or disadvantaged, it can't be a foul on the dribbler. If the defender is legally in the path of the dribbler, it can't be a blocking foul on the defender. If the ball never touched OOB, and the "dribbler" was not dribbling when she stepped OOB, then the ball can't be called OOB.

It doesn't matter if there's one foot or one inch of space on the sideline. If all of the above statements are true (and it sounds to me from Sven's post that they are), then you have no call to make. If you disagree, you disagree.

I'm running out of pennies now. I think that really was my last 2 cents. . .

Chuck
EXACTLY!!!!

I agree with each and every thing Chuck has stated.

Clearly not a PC foul since it sounds like the contact was no more than a glancing blow.
Clearly not OOB since A1 did not have player control when A1 was OOB.

Clearly not a block since B1 was in a legal guarding position.

My ruling: That's Basketball!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1