The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 05, 2003, 03:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Re: Heavy sigh

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by MN 3 Sport Ref
A1 looses dribble (int dribble/fumble what have you) trying to avoid defender. A1 gooes OOB around defender and recovers ball. Legal??? Acording to 9-5 it is a DD if she/he dribbles again.
No, it isn't.
A fumble and an interrupted dribble are not the same thing, so you can't say "...what have you..."
There is no player control during an interrupted dribble.
There is player control during a dribble.
Just because the player re-establishes the dribble does not mean the interrupted dribble didn't happen.

This is not a double dribble or an OOB violation.
I was stating that an int. dribble/fumble were the same for the purpose that player control is terminated. Thanks for the clarification that the two are not the same. I am not disputing the fact that the player can not cause the ball to be OOB during an int dribble. They cannot during a fumble for that matter. What I am asking is it legal for a player to have an interrupted dribble OR fumble, Go OOB around a defender in legal position and

A. recover the ball.
B. continue to dribble.



Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1