The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 05, 2003, 02:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by BayStateRef
Check out the Note under Rule 9-3.
"The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds."

This is not a close call. The girl, while dribbling, stepped out of bounds. That is an OOB violation. It does not matter if she was touching the ball at the time.
Not true. If the dribble was interrupted prior to her stepping OOB, it is not a violation.
BBREF brings up the third situation I failed to mention. D player same position as previous. A1 looses dribble (int dribble/fumble what have you) trying to avoid defender. A1 gooes OOB around defender and recovers ball. Legal??? Acording to 9-5 it is a DD if she/he dribbles again. But what if she simply recovers the ball?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1