The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 05, 2003, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by BayStateRef
Check out the Note under Rule 9-3.
"The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds."

This is not a close call. The girl, while dribbling, stepped out of bounds. That is an OOB violation. It does not matter if she was touching the ball at the time.
It is amazing what one can acomplish when you quit being lazy and walk 5 minutes to your car and retrieve your rule book.

Like stated above 9-3 states the dribbler is OOB even though she was not touching the ball when she went OOB. This would become obvious when he/she continues the dribble on the other side of the defender. For those not satisfied, one could also call a double dribble via 9-5 as the player dribbled , passed/fumbled the ball by the defender and then started a new dribble.

This really wasn't that tough of a sitch. Work must be frying my brain today....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1