The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 30, 2003, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 14
What's the correct ruling here?

After a made basket, the nonscoring team (A) runs a double-inbounder play to break the press. A1 takes the ball out of the net and stands OOB behind the baseline. As the five-second count begins, A2 is in-bounds. A2 then dashes across the baseline out of bounds, and sets both feet OOB before A1's pass gets to him. A2 then inbounds the ball (running the baseline first if necessary).

Legal?

NCAA Rule 7, Section 5, Article 7A says "Any player of the throw-in team may make a direct throw-in or may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate behind the end line."

Are the last words of that rule normally interpreted as:
(a) "to a teammate who is behind the end line as he receives the ball" or (b) "to a teammate who is behind the end line when the play (that is, the 5-second count)begins"?

Any different result under NFHS rules?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1