The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What's legal with a 2nd inbounder after a made basket? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/7245-whats-legal-2nd-inbounder-after-made-basket.html)

A Pennsylvania Coach Fri Jan 31, 2003 10:07am

Re: Thanks .YU.P.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mick


(<I>...as if I've ever seen or ever will see this play</I>)

mick

mick,

If you are working my game tonight (I know, that'd be quite the road trip) you'll see it. We have two standard press offenses, and one more we call "SPECIAL" which is exactly this. We use it against a 1-2-1-1 press which our opponents tonight run often. Since they have a long-armed 5'11 girl that they put up front on the inbounder, it's good to get the inbound pass away from her deflections.

mick Fri Jan 31, 2003 10:16am

Re: Re: Thanks .YU.P.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
Quote:

Originally posted by mick


(<I>...as if I've ever seen or ever will see this play</I>)

mick

mick,

If you are working my game tonight (I know, that'd be quite the road trip) you'll see it. We have two standard press offenses, and one more we call "SPECIAL" which is exactly this. We use it against a 1-2-1-1 press which our opponents tonight run often. Since they have a long-armed 5'11 girl that they put up front on the inbounder, it's good to get the inbound pass away from her deflections.

Yeah, it'd be fun to work in the sunny south.
I've seen the offensive pass OOB, Coach. I do not think I'll see the defender's play, however. :)

BigJoe Fri Jan 31, 2003 10:31am

Mick
U.P. where you live the players are smart enough not to reach through the out of bounds plane and touch the ball in this situation. I had this exact play in a game last year. After a made basket and a time-out the coach asked me if they could run the endline. They set up a play to pass it along the endline and have a player go deep. One of the defenders tried to intercept the endline pass out of bounds knocking the ball into the wall. Of course it was the first game of the season and it took a minute to get the call right. As far as the player not knowing weather or not the ball is released for throw-in or not isn't our problem. If they are passing it along the baseline after a made basket and they touch the ball, it is a T. If they miss the ball it is a warning.

mick Fri Jan 31, 2003 10:43am

Re: Re: Thanks .YU.P.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by hawkk
[B
I think this one is easy: yes, we penalize the defense because the rules say we penalize the defense. How does the defender know it's not going in, by paying attention to the direction the ball is going. And I think the reasoning that you can call the delay instead of the T because he had to break the plane first is horse----; the intent of therule is pretty clear that it is a delay warning for breaking the plane without touching the ball -- any other reading makes the T an impossible option that has no purpose in the rule book.

[/B]
Thanks hawkk,
That works.
mick

mick Fri Jan 31, 2003 10:46am

Quote:

Originally posted by BigJoe
If they are passing it along the baseline after a made basket and they touch the ball, it is a T.
Unless it's released?


klancie Fri Jan 31, 2003 10:52am

Re: Huh?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by klancie
I don't remember a rule against a bounce pass in this situation. No, the defender cannot intercept this pass (unless he can do so without breaking the out of bounds plane, but I doubt that's possible...)
klancie,
Given your assumption, (...or is it a rule or case?) how can I as an official, or how can a defender, tell that the released pass was headed to a teammate out-of-bounds instead of another teammate inbounds?
Are you certain about this?
mick

If A2 is standing OB and A1, throwing it in, sends a bounce pass in that direction, I'm probably going to assume that they're running a set play and the ball is not headed IB.

Am I certain about this? No more certain than I can be about anything else the 8th grade girls that I generally referee are trying to do... :-)

ChuckElias Fri Jan 31, 2003 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by BigJoe
If they are passing it along the baseline after a made basket and they touch the ball, it is a T.
Unless it's released?

If the defense reaches through the OOB plane and touches the ball it's a T in this case, even if released.

My personal belief is that it's a T in any case, but that is still up for debate.

Chuck

mick Fri Jan 31, 2003 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by BigJoe
If they are passing it along the baseline after a made basket and they touch the ball, it is a T.
Unless it's released?

If the defense reaches through the OOB plane and touches the ball it's a T in this case, even if released.

My personal belief is that it's a T in any case, but that is still up for debate.

Chuck

Man, we'll hafta remember to pregame that. ;)

SamNVa Fri Jan 31, 2003 02:00pm

To get really 3rd world on this play: suppose A1 passes to A2 who is stnding OOB at the corner of the court. Can A2 then pass to A3 standing OOB at midcourt (assuming they don't violate the 5 second rule)?

SamC

mick Fri Jan 31, 2003 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by SamNVa
To get really 3rd world on this play: suppose A1 passes to A2 who is stnding OOB at the corner of the court. Can A2 then pass to A3 standing OOB at midcourt (assuming they don't violate the 5 second rule)?

SamC

No, they can't legally do that, Sam.
Then they will have violated the endline plane and failed to throw the ball directly toward the court. ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1