![]() |
|
|
|||
I referee grade school games, 3rd through 6th, and have two questions. In relation to the 3 second rule, many times players at this age (especially 3rd graders) will enter the lane and shoot the ball but not hit the rim. On numerous occasions another player on their team will catch the ball (or they will catch it themselves) and they will continue to shoot in this manner. Does the 3-second count restart every time they shoot the ball or does it have to hit the rim for the count to restart? Also, can the player who shot the ball retrieve it himself (as long as it was a valid shot attempt) even though it did not hit the rim or is this a traveling violation? Until recently, I thought this was a traveling violation. However, a local high school coach in our area told me as long as it is a valid shot attempt that the shooting player can retrieve the ball even if it does not hit anything.
|
|
|||
Welcome to the board!
Quote:
Quote:
![]() Quote:
![]() Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
Welcome to the forum. During a shot, there is no team control, so each try ends the 3-second count. Just like the coach said, if you judge that there was a try and it misses the rim, the shooter may legally get the ball and dribble, shoot, pass, pivot or call time-out. mick |
|
|||
my understanding of the rule
is that if a player makes a shot attempt (in your estimation), regardless of whether it hits rim or not, then the 3-second count stops, and the player may grab his/her own rebound without violation.
In my short tenure as an official, this seems to be the most common misunderstanding that coaches and fans/parents have. Hundreds of times i have heard them yell "3-seconds" while players are scrambling for a rebound after a shot attempt. whenever i can, i try to let the coach know the rule (and about a minute or 2 later i hear him yell '3-seconds' again... ha ha. as far as the traveling goes, i have heard some complain of traveling after an 'airball', but most seem to understand that part of the rule. hope that helps. in my youth leagues, the lower levels have a '5-second' count instead of 3-seconds. |
|
|||
Thanks
Gang,
Thanks for the quick (and numerous) responses. There is definitely consensus on how this rule plays out. For the longest time I have always thought that a player catching their own shot was a traveling violation. Oh well, you learn something new every day! I can't thank you guys enough! This is a great forum. aview |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Re: my understanding of the rule
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|