The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 22, 2003, 06:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally posted by pizanno
Here's another sitch under the same heading:

(Men's) After a basket, team B is pressing. After about 8 seconds, A1 is trapped in the backcourt then calls timeout. Official grants timeout request.

Coach B points out that the shot clock shows 25 (yes, the shot clock started on time AND there was no lag time when granting the TO) and should be a violation.

What do you have and why?

I tell the coach to sit down because this is a women's game.

In men's though, we have A's ball for a throw-in. Rule 2 A.R. 25 startes that "2-10 does not provide for the correction of an error made in the referee's counting of seconds." While the A.R. considers a fast count, it works the same for slow - the official's count is considered official, not the clock . There is an NF Casebook play on this - I'll try to post it when I get back tonight.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1