The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 19, 2003, 10:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 39
NCAA Rules:

What do you have if you have Double tech when a "taunt" is followed by a "shove". This is a double tech, but one is direct, non-contact, while the other is an intentional, contact technical.

Case: B1 fouls A1 while blocking a shot. B1 stands over A1 and "flexes" and screams at A1. A1 then stands up and shoves B1. Double T, no tech FT's. However, A1 has 2 FT's for the personal foul that preceded the T's. Is this a POI at the personal foul FT's or a division line throw in for B because the A's contact T carries a more severe penalty than the taunting?

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 20, 2003, 06:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
The only thing I could find that speaks somewhat to this is:

A.R. 22. One or both foul(s) of either a multiple personal foul or a double personal foul is flagrant.
RULING: For a multiple personal foul, one free throw shall be awarded for each non-flagrant personal foul (women: non-flagrant foul) and two free throws shall be awarded for the flagrant personal foul (women: flagrant foul). For a double personal foul, no free throws shall be awarded. In either case, any player who commits a flagrant personal foul (women: flagrant foul) shall be ejected.

The implication seems to be that there are no free throws even if the nonflagrant foul would have carried a lesser penalty than the flagrant foul. It's a little bit of a stretch, but this leads me to think that you'd go POI.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 20, 2003, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 133
POI

POI, there is no "severity" rule that allows you to inbound at half court. Just line them up and shoot the FT's for the PF and resume play as you normally would after the FT's.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 20, 2003, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Definition of a double technical foul does not differentiate by the type of T that is committed. I agree with no shots for the T's and POI.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 20, 2003, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
The only way you'd inbound at midcourt is if you ruled that the T's were not simultaneous. If it's a false double foul, instead of a doube foul, then you shoot both T's and award the ball at midcourt, since one of the T's was intentional. I'd have to see the play to decide if it was a double foul or FDF.

Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 21, 2003, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 39
Thanks for the insight. I believe, in hindsight, that this should have been an FDF situations. The taunt clearly preceded the shove. We should have shot the personal foul FT's, all Tech FT's, and then awarded B the division line throw in.

Never too old to learn.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1