![]() |
Whaddya got?
<iframe width="560" height="349" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/pe5D9RRtWCw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
|
Judging the play by itself I've got nothing...blow the play dead, let them separate, a friendly reminder that he can hang on to the rim to protect himself, move on.
Now if there were events prior to this that needed addressing (game becoming chippy, players talked to prior, ect.) I could easily see this being a T. |
I probably would T up Rondo in this case. He clearly tried to land on player on the other team. I am surprised the restraint the defender showed in that situation. Rondo is lucky he was not in a neck brace.
Peace |
Quote:
|
Time to brew up a kettle.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
How in the world is this not a T??? Rondo hung there, and then swung himself up and over to land on the guy's shoulders. Even in a "friendly" All-Star type game, that needs to be T'd.
|
Whack.
|
Whack-o-la
|
What about the basket?
Technically he was still an airborne shooter...
|
Quote:
Peace |
It seems you could call this a player control foul and take the basket away. But now I have to go read the rules- I assume you could not do both (call a technical and take the basket away).
If an airborne shooter commits a common foul the basket does not count. But if they commit a technical, the basket does count? |
All I have to say is........
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
So count the basket or not?
On the floor, I would have counted the basket and called a technical foul. On my couch at home, I must admit I have always been confused about foul categories, even though the topic appears here frequently. I am not sure if there is such a thing as a "player control technical". If there is, we should take away the basket on this play.
The rules I looked at are below. I am still not sure of the answer. 4.1.1 An airborne shooter is a player who has released the ball on a try for a goal or has tapped the ball and has not returned to the floor. 4.19.1 A personal foul is a player foul which involves illegal contact with an opponent while the ball is live, which hinders an opponent from performing normal defensive and offensive movements. A personal foul also includes contact by or on an airborne shooter when the ball is dead. 4.19.2 A common foul is a personal foul which is neither flagrant nor intentional nor committed against a player trying or tapping for a field goal nor a part of a double, simultaneous or multiple foul 4.19.5c A technical foul is: c. An intentional or flagrant contact foul while the ball is dead, except a foul by an airborne shooter. 4.19.6 A player-control foul is a common foul committed by a player while he/she is in control of the ball or by an airborne shooter. 5.1.2 Whether the clock is running or stopped has no influence on the counting of a goal. If a player-control foul occurs before or after a goal, the goal is canceled. |
If you decide to call a player control foul, then the basket wouldn't count. If you decide to call a technical foul, then the basket counts and you'll administer the technical foul. Also, there's no such thing as a "player control technical."
|
Quote:
A PC foul is a common foul (4-19-6). A common foul is a personal foul (4-19-2). So, it can't be a technical foul. |
OK, the list in 4.19.5 prevents a foul from being both personal and technical. I think I see this, but I wish it were explicitly stated.
If a foul cannot be both personal and technical, I think I finally get this (after four years of officiating). If this is the case, we cannot a call a technical in the OP unless we assume he hung on the rim long enough that the ball was dead, even though he had not returned to the ground as per 4.1.1. Sorry to turn an interesting video post into into a newbie question, but I never have really got this. Since he never returns to the ground, this got me thinking. |
Unsportsmanlike conduct can be called whether the ball is live or dead. This falls a lot more along the lines of unsportsmanlike conduct than it does a "dead ball" contact foul.
|
Rsi,
I appreciate the trying to figure out what to do part of this, but the player Rondo landed on did not appear to be in LGP. If you called that, then you might have to explain to someone why that was your decision. At least with a technical foul you have basis for such a rule as the play by rule is dead and any contact would be a T. But this would IMO not be just about the contact, it is about the act that Rondo purposely tried to taunt or embarrass his opponent. Stick with the obvious and call a T here. Calling a PC foul would not only be questionable, but not "technically" correct with how other factors are not present at that moment to make this a simply PC foul. Do not go troubling trouble. Peace |
+1
and I think I finally have my rule straight as well. You will now be returned to your regular boring May programming on the board ... |
Riddle Me This ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Sort of like when multiple defenders foul a shooter, you could call them all, but it's overkill. Like you said, on this, call the obvious. And Rondo is lucky he didn't get dumped on his head. |
Quote:
Peace |
Whack.
|
Quote:
1. LGP has nothing to do with the play. Why do you even mention it? A player with the ball or an airborne shooter can certainly commit a player control foul against an opponent who does not have LGP. There is a nice depiction in the Simplified & Illustrated book of a player charging into a defender who is facing the away from him. Take a look at it. 2. Yes, the ball is dead as it has passed through the basket, but writing "any contact would be a T" is wrong as this contact was created by an airborne shooter and rule 4-19-1 specifically tells us that such contact is a personal foul. Furthermore, any contact which is not intentional or flagrant or involving an airborne shooter during a dead ball is to be ignored as stated in the note to that same rule. Did you totally forget about this? 3. Lastly, you advise to "Stick with the obvious and call a T here." Too bad, as such poor advice is not supported by the NFHS rules. You are clearly not saying to charge a T for grasping the ring as you note "Rondo purposely tried to taunt or embarrass his opponent," so you are attempting to penalize his behavior. However, what was that behavior? Did he taunting him with words or by pointing at him? Nope, it was the act of landing himself on top of his opponent. That is a contact action. So BY RULE you cannot charge him with a T for unsporting behavior as that is defined as a NONcontact foul in 4-19-14. 4. Therefore, the proper ruling cannot be a technical foul for the behavior of the player in this particular case, but one could be charged for grasping the ring. Nor in my opinion should a player control foul be called, but that is at least a judgment call about the contact and not simply wrong by rule. What I see in this video is an airborne shooter deliberately creating unacceptable contact with an opponent during a dead ball. According to the NFHS rules that needs to be penalized with an intentional personal foul. The goal with count as the foul is not a common foul and thus cannot qualify as a player control foul. The offended player will attempt two FTs at the other end and then his team will have a designated-spot throw-in on the end line nearest to where the foul occurred. This was an unusual play involving an airborne shooter misbehaving by creating contact. I commend rsl for inquiring about the proper ruling. You shouldn't have dismissed his querry so easily with your "keep it simple" advice, which in this case amounts to "don't really think about it and just get it wrong, very few people will actually know." That's a sad way to officiate. :( |
I'm calling a 'T' for unnecessarily hanging and swinging on the rim.
Would Rondo have still been considered an Airborne Shooter had the opponents immediately grab the ball after basket and had the ball at their disposal before Rondo placed himself upon the defender's shoulders? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
As the factors that we are discussing in this play, an airborne player which the rules says (4-23-5d) the guard must have obtained LGP before the opponent leaves the floor. The defender not only jumps into and towards Rondo, but he also was in an illegal position if any significant contact took place. I guess if you wanted to go there, there would be justification to call a foul on the defender much more than on the airborne player. That would be more proper if we are talking about a PC foul vs. a blocking foul in this situation if you ask me. This is also why we get paid the big bucks right? Peace |
Quote:
Quote:
sorry, but there's more justification for a PC foul (by rule) than a bocking foul. I'm still going with the T for hanging on the rim and ignoring the contact. |
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
I find it odd that anyone wants to T this for grabbing the rim, when there was clearly someone somewhat underneath him at that moment - doesn't such an instance give the shooter MORE leeway regarding hanging onto the rim longer to avoid landing on someone? In fact, someone early in the thread suggests reminding him that he should have held on LONGER.
I'm not sure I have a foul of any sort here. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Depending on what has happened prior to this play, would make this decision easier. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
I think this is a situation for which the rules are unprepared, as I'm pretty sure the gurus on the committee would prefer to see a T called for this action (even if you don't call it for hanging due to the player underneath). Maybe it could be remedied by revising the denfitions so that a player is no longer an airborne shooter once he does a chin-up on the rim. |
Quote:
+1...once he hangs on the rim, for safety purposes or illegally, he is no longer an airborne shooter. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Just because one doesn't like the outcome that the rules generate, that doesn't permit an individual to apply them differently (some might even contend incorrectly). ;) |
Quote:
R.I.F. -- applies here just as much here as it does with the rule book. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
My ruling on the play: T for hanging on the rim. He gets to hang up there to stop from falling, but he doesn't get to throw himself onto another player. It says he may grasp it to prevent injury, it doesn't say he gets to play Tarzan while doing so. I'll ignore the PC foul, just as I'd ignore all but one of multiple fouls committed on a shooter. I think the rule is clear, if you're calling a foul for the contact, it should be a personal (probably intentional in this case). I also think the rule should be slightly amended, or a case play offered to give us clear direction on an abnormal play. |
Quote:
|
T for hanging on the rim and intentional personal foul for jumping on the defender. Probably at least one T on his bench too.
And thus would be the end of my non-existent varsity career. :D |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
If we're talking about personal philosophy, then that is the king of them..if you're willing to make that kind of pioneer call, then I think I'll live with calling a T here for an unsporting act. |
Quote:
So I'll subtract 1 from the count. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Well, yes. Shutup. |
Okay, so, by rule: T for hanging and an intentional personal for the landing.
For the newer officials: Where would the throw-in be? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Since we have a dead ball, isn't it an intentional technical? 1 and a 2...
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I'll go with the T for hanging. |
Quote:
Where would the T-I spot be? |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Why such resistance to following the NFHS directive and enforcing the rules as written? http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...mages/read.gif |
Quote:
Better yet, wasn't it you that claimed that Struckoff had no concept of the rules? :eek: Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
And Nevada, if you're telling me that you would issue a T for hanging on the rim, and an intentional foul...well then good luck with that. |
Quote:
I don't have my book handy, but I think this might also fit under taunting. Another thought: Live ball, A1 and B1 square off and start bumping chests in the middle of play. Most of us would go with double Ts. The contact is incidental to the action earning the T. |
He hung long enough to rotate his body towards the other player. It was not a normal movement of dunking. If that is not a hang, then there is no such thing.
|
Quote:
I feel like if a T is called here, then you could fit it under taunting like the play you mention. I feel like that's a much more accurate interpretation of this play rather than calling a T for grasping the rim. And I would call a double T in your situation like you suggest, but if we want to stick by the book, we should call a double foul since we can't call a T for live ball contact. Not saying I'd go that route, but it seems like some want to go strictly by the book |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If it weren't for the redirection to land on the other player's shoulders, it wouldn't cross my threshold to draw the whistle. But, when it was done to land on the other player, it would. |
Live From Connecticut, It's Thursday Afternoon ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
There's a reason no one replied Billy...
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
T'em up, count the bucket. |
Quote:
Just because Struckhoff doesn't understand the NFHS rules very well doesn't mean that the committee can't instruct all officials to enforce them as written. Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Too bad that you can't grasp that. You are guilty of advising people to fail to follow the rules as written by advocating that a technical foul be charged in this specific situation when the rules clearly forbid such as the play involved physical contact. 2010-11 POINTS OF EMPHASIS
|
Quote:
News to me. |
Quote:
The specific situation is contact by or on an airborne shooter while the ball is dead. NFHS rule 4-19-1 note states that this is a personal foul. If the player were not an airborne shooter, then a technical foul would be appropriate. However, that is not the case here. |
Maybe you should have highlighted that part in red! :)
The rules don't forbid any such thing in this case though. Because this can easily fall under 10-3-7c (Player Technical) "A player shall not ... Commit an unsporting foul. This includes, but is not limited to, acts or conduct such as ... Baiting or taunting an opponent. NOTE: The NFHS disapproves of any form of taunting which is intended or designed to embarrass, ridicule or demean others under any circumstances including on the basis of race, religion, gender or national origin." If timing the dismount of your monster dunk so that you land on your opponent and ride him piggyback is not intended to embarrass, ridicule, or demean, I don't know what is. |
Quote:
Peace |
Ball through the net. Dead ball until team secures it to begin throw-in. No matter which way you try to spin it, a technical foul call is warranted.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11am. |