![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Too bad that you can't grasp that. You are guilty of advising people to fail to follow the rules as written by advocating that a technical foul be charged in this specific situation when the rules clearly forbid such as the play involved physical contact. 2010-11 POINTS OF EMPHASIS
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() News to me. |
|
|||
Quote:
The specific situation is contact by or on an airborne shooter while the ball is dead. NFHS rule 4-19-1 note states that this is a personal foul. If the player were not an airborne shooter, then a technical foul would be appropriate. However, that is not the case here. |
|
|||
Maybe you should have highlighted that part in red!
![]() The rules don't forbid any such thing in this case though. Because this can easily fall under 10-3-7c (Player Technical) "A player shall not ... Commit an unsporting foul. This includes, but is not limited to, acts or conduct such as ... Baiting or taunting an opponent. NOTE: The NFHS disapproves of any form of taunting which is intended or designed to embarrass, ridicule or demean others under any circumstances including on the basis of race, religion, gender or national origin." If timing the dismount of your monster dunk so that you land on your opponent and ride him piggyback is not intended to embarrass, ridicule, or demean, I don't know what is. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Ball through the net. Dead ball until team secures it to begin throw-in. No matter which way you try to spin it, a technical foul call is warranted.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
Nevada's contention is that even though the ball is dead, the airborne exception applies here. I'd contend, that this is not what the airborne exception was intended for, and I would take a hit for calling a T instead of an intentional personal foul even when it's not "by the book."
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
I'm not breaking any new ground in this thread, but the situation under discussion involves CONTACT, during a DEAD BALL (6-7-1), by an AIRBORNE SHOOTER (4-1-1). By rule -- again, whether you like it or not -- this is a personal foul (4-19-1). If you would "rather take the hit" for calling a T, I can actually understand that. But by rule, this is a personal foul. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
In 10.3.7, A1 has already returned to the ground and so is no longer an airborne shooter.
That's really the crux of the entire thread. Do you think that the intentional contact during a dead ball is ALWAYS a technical foul? Or do you believe that the airborne shooter exception in 4-19-1 also applies to dead ball periods? I don't see any reason to say that 4-19-1 only applies to live balls. It certainly doesn't say that in the rules. We just normally think of it that way. Just because this play doesn't fit into how we "normally" call contact on or by an airborne shooter, doesn't mean the rule stops applying in those non-normal situations. JMHO. |
|
|||
Quote:
There are two issues at here ... and I have to say that I am in the camp that states that a player who has completed a dunk and is still hanging on the rim on his way down does not really meet the spirit of the rule of "airborne player". |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
So should we submit a rule change so that 4-1-1 reads that an airborne shooter is a player who has released the ball on a try and has not yet returned to the floor, but who has not grasped the ring? (That opens up a whole other can of worms for this play, btw.) As I said previously, I can actually understand why we'd want this to be a dead ball contact technical foul. It is the "expected" call. It's like calling one foul instead of a multiple foul. You could be technically right in calling a multiple foul, but nobody does; and it would be a major headache if you did. But at least in that case, you have rule support for calling one foul (after all, the player who gave the foul to did commit a foul). And to be completely honest, in the heat of the moment, I might actually forget that he's an airborne shooter because of the unusual circumstances. But in the video play, you actually don't have rule support for a technical foul. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Whaddya got? | fullor30 | Basketball | 8 | Thu Feb 26, 2009 07:04pm |
Whaddya got? | WhistlesAndStripes | Basketball | 35 | Tue Jan 15, 2008 01:40am |
Whaddya do? | WhistlesAndStripes | Basketball | 8 | Mon Jan 23, 2006 04:17am |