The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Foul under the basket? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6990-foul-under-basket.html)

SMcQueen Wed Jan 15, 2003 06:04pm

Varsity players are a bit more skilled (at least most are :) and I expect them to play under control a bit more. I'd have to base that one on the skill level of the players. If displacement occurs then ring them up otherwise look at the history, If the teams are getting too physical then I bang em, if there is an occasional bump every once in a while I might let it go if the kid is able to maintain position for the most part. As for Varsity, and better JV teams for that matter, a B/C is a bit more obvious that a foul has taken place, the hard part is determining who earned the foul.

Camron Rust Wed Jan 15, 2003 08:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by devdog69
If my assignor tells me I had better have a whistle, I will either work elsewhere or ignore him and wait til he quits calling me. IMO, he is hiring me to use MY judgement, either live with it or don't hire me.
Agreed, but for those they say they will not call a charge under the basket (or even call it a block), it's not a matter of using their judgement but a matter of using their own rules. I think we probably all agree that making up your own rules is not acceptable.

I had a partner recent call a block on a kid who had taken a position under the basket. The kid had been in position so long, he was growing roots. The coach asked him what he did. Partner responded (from the middle of the floor where many people could here it) "He was under the basket." Unfortunately for him, the coach knew the rules and called him on it (rather respectfully though). He repeated it only to have the coach still question it. He eventually change is reason that the defender was falling away. He actually wasn't and even if he was, it was still the wrong call. The coach again questioned him on it this. Partner eventually shrugged his shoulder and smiled.

The sad thing is that he thinks it should be called that way.

ChuckElias Thu Jan 16, 2003 06:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by Ron
In the NBA, a defender must have both feet outside of that semi-circle or any contact with a shooter is an automatic blocking foul.
This is not really accurate. First of all, the rule only applies to a secondary defender. The offensive player's primary defender can still take a charge in the Restricted Area. Secondly, slight contact can be ignored. It is not an "automatic" blocking foul. Thirdly, if the offensive player uses an arm to "clear out" the defender, it's an offensive foul, even if the secondary defender is inside the RA. Finally, the rule only applies when the play originates outside the "lower defensive box" (an imaginary rectangle extending from the bottom of the jump circle to the baseline, and 3 feet wider than the FT lane on each side).

I know nobody really cares about the NBA rules, but if we're going to talk about them, we might as well get them right.

Also, as for the NCAA men's ruling, officially it's the same as the Fed. There's even an AR on it, stating that it should be a charge. (I can't cite it, b/c I didn't bring my rulebooks to the Carribean with me :) ) But obviously, it is not always called that way, especially at the D1 level.

Chuck

dhodges007 Thu Jan 16, 2003 07:46am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias

I know nobody really cares about the NBA rules, but if we're going to talk about them, we might as well get them right.

(I can't cite it, b/c I didn't bring my rulebooks to the Carribean with me :)

Chuck

I am always curious about the differences. Thanks for adding your two "sense". Enjoy the Carribean!!

crew Thu Jan 16, 2003 03:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Ron
In the NBA, a defender must have both feet outside of that semi-circle or any contact with a shooter is an automatic blocking foul.
This is not really accurate. First of all, the rule only applies to a secondary defender. The offensive player's primary defender can still take a charge in the Restricted Area. Secondly, slight contact can be ignored. It is not an "automatic" blocking foul. Thirdly, if the offensive player uses an arm to "clear out" the defender, it's an offensive foul, even if the secondary defender is inside the RA. Finally, the rule only applies when the play originates outside the "lower defensive box" (an imaginary rectangle extending from the bottom of the jump circle to the baseline, and 3 feet wider than the FT lane on each side).

I know nobody really cares about the NBA rules, but if we're going to talk about them, we might as well get them right.

Also, as for the NCAA men's ruling, officially it's the same as the Fed. There's even an AR on it, stating that it should be a charge. (I can't cite it, b/c I didn't bring my rulebooks to the Carribean with me :) ) But obviously, it is not always called that way, especially at the D1 level.

Chuck

good stuff chuck, in addition to the clear out with the arm or hand, an offensive player may not lead with the foot or knee. if they do the restricted area is null and this should be called accordingly leaning towards offensive foul. when this happens it has become a "basketball play".


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1