![]() |
Boys JV game. A1 has the ball coming towards the basket. B1 about under the basket, but is standing still. A1 goes in for a layup but definitely runs into B1. I call a charge, no basket. The coach of A1 goes nutty saying that B1 was under the basket and I should not have called it and what a terrible call it was.
I know in the NBA they have that semi circle but what about H.S.? Was my call the wrong one? I thought it was a charge, plain and simple. What exactly does the semi circle in the NBA do? |
This is a good topic for discussion with varying degrees of opinion. Mine is you can't play defense from under the basket, but if it's blatant and he's definitely set to take a charge, the dribbler out of control, I might call it. My preference would be to no call it if it all possible.
|
It's perfectly legal for a defender to "take a charge" while standing under the basket. But, like devdog, I'd want the contact to be pretty severe in order to award the defender in that situation.
In the NBA, a defender must have both feet outside of that semi-circle or any contact with a shooter is an automatic blocking foul. |
Quote:
"Coach, when he gets to the NBA, he'll get that call. But, as you know, in HS there's no circle under the basket." |
Quote:
|
tHE CASE IS 10.6.1 SITUATION D:
"B1 standing behind the plane of the backboard before A1 jumps for a lay up. Forward momentum causes A1 to charge into B1. RULING: B1 is entitled to position obtained legally before A1 left the floor. If ball goes through basket, player control foul cancels the score. I would say this applies to my situation. |
Basically you have a coach who has been listening to Billy Packer on Saturday mornings...in HS games played under Fed rules, that is a player control foul...in NCAA womens games, it is either a no-call or a block...not sure what the NCAA men's guidelines are...your call was absolutely correct...
|
Legal Defense
NCAA Women's rules state that "a defender who establishes a position directly under the cylinder or behind the backboard when a dribbler becomes an airborne shooter is not in a legai guarding position, regardless if she got to the spot first". If contact occurs it is either incidental or a foul on the defensive player. The exception to this is if the dribbler is on a path parallel to the end line. In this case the position directly under the cylinder or behind the back board is legal. The key phrase is all of this is "airborne shooter." If the offense doesn't leave the floor for a shot, all bets are off and you make the block/charge call accordingly.
|
Re: Legal Defense
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
As i always say:
NO CALL IS THE BEST CALL |
The NFHS has made it very clear that they want this called as an offensive charge. There is even a case book play that has this exact scenario. Rough play is a point of emphasis every year. Offensive charge calls reduce rough play by sending a message to the offense that they need to stay in control and will be penalized when they barrel over the defense. You made the right call.
As our rules interpreter said, "if there is a block/charge situation <b> with </b> displacement, you'd <b> better </b> have a whistle! Z |
Your asking for trouble in the 4th quarter Romano. You send the message that it's ok to clobber a guy like that you will have bodies flying throught the lane by the end of the game and someone's gonna end up hurt. NCAA and up may be a different story but I'd say JV and down you need to let the kids know that they are playing basketball, not football. Play under control is what I tell them.
Good call K2 |
The key here for me is K2 said "runs into b1" he didn't say "runs OVER B1". For me, there is a difference. As always, the disclaimer "I would have to see the play", but by the sound of it, I am probably not calling it in the former, but in the latter it is a charge. If he gives him a little bump and B1 is knocked back a couple of inches and your assignor says you better have a whistle, like zebramans, then fine. If my assignor tells me I had better have a whistle, I will either work elsewhere or ignore him and wait til he quits calling me. IMO, he is hiring me to use MY judgement, either live with it or don't hire me.
|
Quote:
|
Varsity players are a bit more skilled (at least most are :) and I expect them to play under control a bit more. I'd have to base that one on the skill level of the players. If displacement occurs then ring them up otherwise look at the history, If the teams are getting too physical then I bang em, if there is an occasional bump every once in a while I might let it go if the kid is able to maintain position for the most part. As for Varsity, and better JV teams for that matter, a B/C is a bit more obvious that a foul has taken place, the hard part is determining who earned the foul.
|
Quote:
I had a partner recent call a block on a kid who had taken a position under the basket. The kid had been in position so long, he was growing roots. The coach asked him what he did. Partner responded (from the middle of the floor where many people could here it) "He was under the basket." Unfortunately for him, the coach knew the rules and called him on it (rather respectfully though). He repeated it only to have the coach still question it. He eventually change is reason that the defender was falling away. He actually wasn't and even if he was, it was still the wrong call. The coach again questioned him on it this. Partner eventually shrugged his shoulder and smiled. The sad thing is that he thinks it should be called that way. |
Quote:
I know nobody really cares about the NBA rules, but if we're going to talk about them, we might as well get them right. Also, as for the NCAA men's ruling, officially it's the same as the Fed. There's even an AR on it, stating that it should be a charge. (I can't cite it, b/c I didn't bring my rulebooks to the Carribean with me :) ) But obviously, it is not always called that way, especially at the D1 level. Chuck |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42pm. |