The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally posted by w_sohl
Quote:
Originally posted by MN 3 Sport Ref
Quote:
Originally posted by w_sohl
It was my understanding (from a rules meeting) that a player COULD lift his pivot foot BEFORE starting a dribble or making a pass as long as the dribble was started or the ball was released on the pass BEFORE the pivot foot was RETURNED to the floor. Is this an incorrect rules interpretation?
You got it right (FED NC2A) Pass/shot must be released or dribble started before pivot is lifted. If this occurs nearly simultaneously it is legal.
You say I got it right in your post but contridict my statement. Now I am really confused.
It is your quote that is contradicting. How can a player start a dribble before he starts a dribble???

"BEFORE starting a dribble or making a pass as long as the dribble was started"

I simply overlooked your error as I thought you did not mean to word it that way.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1