MN 3 Sport Ref |
Wed Jan 15, 2003 02:23pm |
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
There are at least two conflicting lines of thought on this thread, so lets go straight to the rules.
Rule 4, SECTION 43 TRAVELING
ART. 3 . . . After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
c. The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.
I have seen it said that you can lift in all cases, lift in none of the cases, and the correct rule which is stated above. The dribble is different than the shot or pass by rule.
|
Hawks is 100% correct here. Pivot may be lifted but not returned to floor for pass or shot. On dribble, dribble must be initiated before pivot is lifted. If only all coaches were students of the game like you Hawks!!! :D
|