![]() |
|
|||
Not being an NCAA official I am a bit unclear on these two plays. Could those of you who work NCAA enlighten me on the POI rules for these plays.
1. Monday night Notre Dame v. Pitt game: Near the end of the game Pitt's Brandin Knight has the ball in his backcourt. He is fouled by a ND player, who is reaching in for the ball. After the foul is called, Knight uses his arm to shove the ND player away and charged with a T. The officials had Knight shoot two free throws with the lane cleared due to ND having more than 10 team fouls, and then allowed ND to shoot the two technical foul shots. After this ND was given the ball at the division line. Is this correct? Or should ND have shot two for the T and then continue the game from the POI, which would be Knight shooting two and continue as normal. 2. Wed. Duke v. Georgetown game: 1:57 to play in the first half. Duke player is fouled and it is double bonus. He misses the first and Georgetown grabs the rebound, the officials mistakenly allow play to continue and Georgetown moves the ball up to near half court before an official blows a whistle and stops play. The failure to award the second merited free throw is obviously a correctable error, but I question how they handled it. They put the time back on the clock and then simply lined the players back up and shot the second free throw, which was missed and Georgetown got the rebound. Under NFHS rules no time should be put back, the lane should be cleared, and Georgetown should be awarded the ball near the division line after the free throw, whether it is made or missed, since there was a change of possession and that was the POI. Is this the case in the NCAA too? If so the officials gave Duke a chance at an offensive rebound that they shouldn't have had and messed up the game clock. |
Bookmarks |
|
|