The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 03, 2000, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
Post

quote:
Originally posted by walter:
Sounds to me like the old adage, "if it is a legitimiate attempt to block a shot" may no longer apply. The way I read this is that if the board is slapped intentionally, (there they go asking us to judge intent again) regardless if it is an attempt to block or not, they want a technical foul called.


I interpret the new wording as SUPPORTING that old adage. The clarification adds two parts, from what I can tell: 1) adding the RING as an appendage that cannot be grabbed to gain an advantage (in addition to putting a hand on the backboard), and 2) adding the word "intentionally." Adding this word, in my mind, is specifically telling us to only call a "T" when it is clear it was done on purpose when the ball is in flight during a try . . . (etc.) and NOT when it is part of an attempt to block that shot. Maybe the explanation that comes with the rule clarification will spell out the committee's intent more fully.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1