![]() |
|
|||
Re: Philosophy or rule?
Quote:
To quote NFHS R5-S8-A3a: Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official: Grants a player's/head coach's oral or visual request for a time-out, such request being granted only when: The ball is in control or at the diposal of a player of his/her team. NCAA R5-S9-A3a and A4 address the same situations as NFHS R5-S8-A3a does. This rule has always been interpreted to mean that the request must be made during player control or is at the team's disposal for a throw-in or a freethrow, not when the official signals for the time-out. To interpret the rule as you do would penalize the team requesting the time-out. I am sure that must about all rules interpreters will agree with me that both the NFHS and NCAA language is not the clearest, but the intent is the same: grant the request if the request was made when there is player control or the ball is at the disposal of the thrower (throw-in or freethrow).
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
Bookmarks |
|
|