The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Help (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/66361-help.html)

tref Wed Apr 06, 2011 09:27am

Help
 
Looking for a case play that shows the difference between slapping the backboard purposely & incidentally. Also, how slapping the backboard cannot be BI or GT.

Thanks!

Adam Wed Apr 06, 2011 09:30am

Does 10.3.4 work?

tref Wed Apr 06, 2011 09:47am

Thanks Snaqs!

billyu2 Wed Apr 06, 2011 09:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 747423)
Looking for a case play that shows the difference between slapping the backboard purposely & incidentally. Also, how slapping the backboard cannot be BI or GT.

Thanks!

The NFHS definition for basket interference, Rule 4-6, does not make any allowance for a BI violation to be called due to slapping the backboard no matter if it was done incidentally or intentionally.

BillyMac Wed Apr 06, 2011 05:47pm

From The Files Of The Mythbusters ...
 
A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.

The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.

(NFHS Rules)

Raymond Wed Apr 06, 2011 05:49pm

Couldn't find anything in the NCAA Case Book...can't check Snaq's Fed cite right now. But I'm sure Randy Brown could help there.

26 Year Gap Wed Apr 06, 2011 05:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 747535)
Couldn't find anything in the NCAA Case Book...can't check Snaq's Fed cite right now. But I'm sure Randy Brown could help there.

If you were Costello, you would say....
<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/f1EH96nCoTc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

tref Wed Apr 06, 2011 06:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 747533)
A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.

The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.

(NFHS Rules)

Absolutely, but some guys have to see it to believe it.

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 09:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 747533)
It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring.

A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul.

Don't we have to qualify and/or supplement these a bit with 10-3-4?

APG Mon Apr 11, 2011 09:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 748964)
Don't we have to qualify and/or supplement these a bit with 10-3-4?

What needs to be qualified? What is incorrect about the statement? Billy pulled that particular statement from a "Commonly Misunderstood Rules" piece that he keeps.

Welpe Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 748973)
What needs to be qualified? What is incorrect about the statement? Billy pulled that particular statement from a "Commonly Misunderstood Rules" piece that he keeps.

It looks fine to me.

APG Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 748979)
It looks fine to me.

I know it's dangerous because the next 1,000 page novel might follow, but I'm curious as to what he meant by his statement. It looked fine to me as well. :confused:

Welpe Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 748981)
I know it's dangerous because the next 1,000 page novel might follow, but I'm curious as to what he meant by his statement. It looked fine to me as well. :confused:

To quote a scholarly television production: "Here we go."

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:17am

In the first passage of Billy's that I quoted, wouldn't touching to gain an advantage be an exception under 10-3-4a?

In the second, wouldn't less significant contact than Billy describes need to be added if it caused the ring to vibrate (including when try in flight or ball touching backboard) under 10-3-4b?

Jurassic Referee Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 748988)
In the first passage of Billy's that I quoted, wouldn't touching to gain an advantage be an exception under 10-3-4a?

In the second, wouldn't less significant contact than Billy describes need to be added if it caused the ring to vibrate (including when try in flight or ball touching backboard) under 10-3-4b?

No.

Jurassic Referee Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 748986)
To quote a scholarly television production: "Here we go."

To quote scholary JR....
http://www.forumspile.com/Old-1950sHeadache.jpg

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 748992)
No.

How about in the first passage, causing the ring to vibrate?

Jurassic Referee Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 748995)
How about in the first passage, causing the ring to vibrate?

No.

APG Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 748988)
In the first passage of Billy's that I quoted, wouldn't touching to gain an advantage be an exception under 10-3-4a?

In the second, wouldn't less significant contact than Billy describes need to be added if it caused the ring to vibrate (including when try in flight or ball touching backboard) under 10-3-4b?

The first part of Billy's statement simply tells us it's not basket interference to contact the rim or net while the ball doesn't have the rim as its base...even if it's in the cylinder...it didn't say it was legal to grab the rim...rather it said touch. Of course we can always issue a technical foul if a player grabbed the rim to gain an advantage.

Billy's second point I believe comes straight from a recent POE. No need to qualify it with 10-3-4b. One is going to have to strike the backboard with force to cause the rim to vibrate anyhow.

Welpe Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:36am

The point is Billy's list is not intended to be a comprehensive list of what is legal and what is not (though I'm sure he has that stashed away somewhere ;)). His list is intended to debunk some commonly held basketball myths.

Adam Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 748988)
????

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 748992)
No.

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 748995)
????

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 748997)
No.

http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/s...aughing001.gif

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 748998)
The first part of Billy's statement simply tells us it's not basket interference to contact the rim or net while the ball doesn't have the rim as its base...even if it's in the cylinder...it didn't say it was legal to grab the rim...rather it said touch. Of course we can always issue a technical foul ii a player grabbed the rim to gain an advantage.

Yes, I understood the general context. It was the "It is legal to touch the ring . . ." that seemed to stretch things a little. I'm with you on the grasping part, but that is 10-3-3. 10-3-4 simply says "contact", then (a) says "Placing a hand". There seems to be a lower standard in 10-3-4.

Quote:

Billy's second point I believe comes straight from a recent POE. No need to qualify it with 10-3-4b. One is going to have to strike the backboard with force to cause the rim to vibrate anyhow.
This is the one I was thinking needed supplementing, as opposed to qualifying. It struck me that causing ring vibration should be added to the two conditions Billy mentioned, "attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration."

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 749001)
The point is Billy's list is not intended to be a comprehensive list of what is legal and what is not (though I'm sure he has that stashed away somewhere ;)). His list is intended to debunk some commonly held basketball myths.

Gotcha.

Raymond Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 749001)
The point is Billy's list is not intended to be a comprehensive list of what is legal and what is not (though I'm sure he has that stashed away somewhere ;)). His list is intended to debunk some commonly held basketball myths.

Billy committed heresy in Randall's eyes. He posted something with clarity.

Randall doesn't believe it's possible to explain anything and still be right in fewer than 1000 words.

Still waiting for the first time Randall posts an actual rule. Guess the a$$-hat thinks everyone walks around with a rule book in their back pocket.

He's a clown.

Adam Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 749001)
The point is Billy's list is not intended to be a comprehensive list of what is legal and what is not (though I'm sure he has that stashed away somewhere ;)). His list is intended to debunk some commonly held basketball myths.

Exactly. And if someone could describe a situation in which merely touching the rim would create an advantage, I suppose that would show Billy's statement to be slightly inadequate.

APG Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:53am

Except Billy's statement is still true...it is legal to touch the rim/net when the ball isn't on the rim. You can play semantics with "place" vs. "grab" but 10-3-4a only says it's only illegal if it's to gain an advantage.

One can cause the rim to vibrate if it's a legit shot block attempt. Billy's and NFHS' point is we see players intentionally strike the backboard (that isn't a legit block attempt) often when frustrated or draw attention to oneself (think a dunk and slap on the board on the way down).

As Welpe pointed out, this list isn't meant to be a replacement for the rule book. Rather this list was made to aid officials and specifically to help inform fans on aspects of the rules that they otherwise wouldn't know.

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 749012)
10-3-4a only says it's only illegal if it's to gain an advantage.

Yep, and that's all I was pointing out, there.

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 749009)
Exactly. And if someone could describe a situation in which merely touching the rim would create an advantage, I suppose that would show Billy's statement to be slightly inadequate.

Any of you guys ever seen a high school player with the ability to contact the ring or backboard and use it to their advantage somehow? I don't think I've ever seen that, including as a spectator.

Jurassic Referee Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 749009)
Exactly. And if someone could describe a situation in which merely touching the rim would create an advantage, I suppose that would show Billy's statement to be slightly inadequate.

It goes right back to knowing the purpose and intent of a rule. And that's also exactly why R10-3-3 and 10-4-1(i) says it's a "T" to grasp the rim, not merely touch it.

Jurassic Referee Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749018)
Any of you guys ever seen a high school player with the ability to contact the ring or backboard and use it to their advantage somehow?

Yes. Several times and in different ways.

Adam Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 749021)
Yes. Several times and in different ways.

And always involving either slapping, pushing, or grasping; never mere "touching."

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 749021)
Yes. Several times and in different ways.

In case I ever see it while working, please share, and maybe I'll be prepared. By the way, did you T it under 10-3-4a?

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 749022)
And always involving either slapping, pushing, or grasping; never mere "touching."

Grasping and slapping, yes, but describe the pushing for me. Are we talking using the board/ring to reposition themselves to block a shot, get a rebound, or what?

tref Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 749022)
And always involving either slapping, pushing, or grasping; never mere "touching."

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749026)
In case I ever see it while working, please share, and maybe I'll be prepared. By the way, did you T it under 10-3-4a?

A1 goes up for a 2 handed dunk, while airborn he loses control of the ball & grabs the rim with his left hand before dunking the ball with his right hand.

APG Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749026)
In case I ever see it while working, please share, and maybe I'll be prepared. By the way, did you T it under 10-3-4a?

Believe me when I say, when you see it, it'll be patently blatant, and it'll call itself.

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 749028)
A1 goes up for a 2 handed dunk, while airborn he loses control of the ball & grabs the rim with his left hand before dunking the ball with his right hand.

An interesting one: Isn't that legal, because done while dunking? Does the "before" element make it illegal? What about shooting motion? Did you call it?

Jurassic Referee Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749026)
In case I ever see it while working, please share, and maybe I'll be prepared. By the way, did you T it under 10-3-4a?

Defensive player puts one hand on one side of the board to steady himself and swats the ball away on the other side with the other hand. "T" for the hand on the board and possible goaltending or basket interference on the swat.

Defensive player grabs the ring with one hand and swats a try away with the other. Same result. Technical foul and possible GT or BI.

tref Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749035)
An interesting one: Isn't that legal, because done while dunking?

Yeah, okay... :eek:

Adam Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749035)
?????

<strike>Not if the grasping was done while control of the ball had been lost.</strike>

<strike>And</strike> if a player uses the rim to make a dunk possible (prolonging air time, gaining extra height, etc), ring him up.

And the exception is listed in 4-6, Basket Interference, not 10-3. There is no exception for player technicals during a dunk.

APG Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749035)
An interesting one: Isn't that legal, because done while dunking? Does the "before" element make it illegal? What about shooting motion? Did you call it?

Is this a serious question? :confused:

Jurassic Referee Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 749028)
A1 goes up for a 2 handed dunk, while airborn he loses control of the ball & grabs the rim with his left hand before dunking the ball with his right hand.

I'd "T" that one up under 10-3-3 instead of 10-3-4. The ball is dead on the initial grab so the subsequent dunk with a dead ball is ignored(unless you're MTD Sr. :) )

You have to make sure that another player wasn't underneath A1 though when he grabbed the ring. If so, you can still make 10-4-4(a) fit also. Same result.

Welpe Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 749039)
Not if the grasping was done while control of the ball had been lost.

And if a player uses the rim to make a dunk possible (prolonging air time, gaining extra height, etc), ring him up.

And the exception is listed in 4-6, Basket Interference, not 10-3. There is no exception for player technicals during a dunk.

Ignoring your list, are you? :D

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 749029)
Believe me when I say, when you see it, it'll be patently blatant, and it'll call itself.

It will probably have to. In one of my first AAU games, I witnessed a kid make one of the most fluid hook and spin moves for an easy lay-in I have ever seen. It came toward me from the block across the key while in Lead. I was so shocked, I could do nothing but admire it (along with the even more mesmerized spectator standing behind me). Same thing happened later in the game by a very small player on the same team. Again, while in Lead, he grabs the jersey of a much larger opponent under the basket during rebounding, precisely at the moment the opponent tries to go up for the rebound, and then quickly released. The opponent didn't even know it had happened. Again, I was dumbfounded, and unable to react. I was not prepared for those sorts of tactics at that level.

Adam Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 749042)
Ignoring your list, are you? :D

He's getting quoted, which allows me to respond.

grunewar Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 749044)
He's getting quoted, which allows me to respond.

I've got the same problem..... Gapper had an issue with me quoting someone the other day and I told him I would try to avoid it in the future.....now, if I can only remember who it was....... :confused:

Adam Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 749047)
I've got the same problem..... Gapper had an issue with me quoting someone the other day and I told him I would try to avoid it in the future.....now, if I can only remember who it was....... :confused:

I really don't mind too much when it happens. If he starts asking intelligent questions and actually responding like a referee instead of a theologian, I can always adjust the list accordingly.

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 749051)
I really don't mind too much when it happens. If he starts asking intelligent questions and actually responding like a referee instead of a theologian, I can always adjust the list accordingly.

Like that's going to happen.

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 749039)
Not if the grasping was done while control of the ball had been lost.

And if a player uses the rim to make a dunk possible (prolonging air time, gaining extra height, etc), ring him up.

And the exception is listed in 4-6, Basket Interference, not 10-3. There is no exception for player technicals during a dunk.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 749040)
Is this a serious question? :confused:

Which one, APG? :) tref did say control was lost, but what if it wasn't? What if, as Snaq seems to be picking up on (and tref in his subsequent post), A1 maintains control with one hand? Is he OK to go ahead and grab with the off-hand, followed by a grab with the dunking hand as he puts it through, as long as he hasn't prolonged or propelled, as Snaq points out?

mbyron Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 749044)
He's getting quoted, which allows me to respond.

Not under my ruleset. :mad:

APG Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749059)
Which one, APG? :) tref did say control was lost, but what if it wasn't? What if, as Snaq seems to be picking up on (and tref in his subsequent post), A1 maintains control with one hand? Is he OK to go ahead and grab with the off-hand, followed by a grab with the dunking hand as he puts it through, as long as he hasn't prolonged or propelled, as Snaq points out?

4-6-2
Exception: In Arts. 1 or 2, if a player has his/her hand hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continue after it enters the basket cylinder or if in such action, the player touche the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference.

The italicized part is my emphasis. In your play is A1's hand contacting the ball?

Adam Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 749063)
4-6-2
Exception: In Arts. 1 or 2, if a player has his/her hand hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continue after it enters the basket cylinder or if in such action, the player touche the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference.

The initialized part is my emphasis. In your play is A1's hand contacting the ball?

Good point, the other important part is:
"is not basket interference." Behavior that is a technical foul without a dunk is not exempted because it happens during a dunk. The exception here is to the BI rule, not the TF rule.

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 749063)
4-6-2
Exception: In Arts. 1 or 2, if a player has his/her hand hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continue after it enters the basket cylinder or if in such action, the player touche the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference.

The initialized part is my emphasis. In your play is A1's hand contacting the ball?

I was focusing on 10-3-4, APG--disregard BI in regards to my comments. 10-3-3 kept creeping in, and when tref brought up the dunk situation, I found it interesting, and wondered about the implications as far as technicals go. If A1 goes up for either a one- or two-handed dunk, initially, and then uses only one hand to dunk, but before doing so, grasps the ring with the off-hand, maintains control with the other, do we have a T (assume the grasp was not for safety considerations, as Jurassic points out)?

Jurassic Referee Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749059)
Is he OK to go ahead and grab with the off-hand, followed by a grab with the dunking hand as he puts it through, as long as he hasn't prolonged or propelled, as Snaq points out?

Answered in post #41 of this thread.

This is exactly why you're constantly getting crapped on here. A question gets answered with corresponding rules citations. You refuse to believe the answer and then come up with all kinds of extraneous crap that have absolutely nothing to do with the discussion.

If you don't understand what is being discussed, you shouldn't be part of the discussion. It's that simple.

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 749069)
Good point, the other important part is:
"is not basket interference." Behavior that is a technical foul without a dunk is not exempted because it happens during a dunk. The exception here is to the BI rule, not the TF rule.

Yes, but in this situation, both are at work, simultaneously, no?

Jurassic Referee Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 749063)
4-6-2
Exception: In Arts. 1 or 2, if a player has his/her hand hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continue after it enters the basket cylinder or if in such action, the player touche the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference.

The italicized part is my emphasis. In your play is A1's hand contacting the ball?

You never get this far. The ball is dead on the technical foul as soon as the player grabbed the ring with one hand before he dunked with his other hand.

Jurassic Referee Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749073)
Yes, but in this situation, both are at work, simultaneously, no?

No...and you again very obviously didn't understand what Snaqs just told you.

APG Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:53pm

Randy, your question has already been answered by JR. You are making this way too complicated. You can't grasp the rim save for the specific exceptions that have already been cited in the thread. I really don't understand what your confusion is. It's a pretty basic basket rule. :confused:

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 749072)
Answered in post #41 of this thread.

This is exactly why you're constantly getting crapped on here. A question gets answered with corresponding rules citations. You refuse to believe the answer and then come up with all kinds of extraneous crap that have absolutely nothing to do with the discussion.

If you don't understand what is being discussed, you shouldn't be part of the discussion. It's that simple.

Perhaps, but I'm wondering if others have a different view, considering that dunking is allowed, and that grasping is allowed while dunking. I know I have seen it numerous times where a player tries a two-handed dunk, believes or realizes it isn't going to happen, lets one hand slip off to grasp the rim, followed by the other hand driving the ball through, and a final two-handed grasp. On those occasions, I have never seen a T called.

APG Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749078)
Perhaps, but I'm wondering if others have a different view, considering that dunking is allowed, and that grasping is allowed while dunking. I know I have seen it numerous times where a player tries a two-handed dunk, believes or realizes it isn't going to happen, lets one hand slip off to grasp the rim, followed by the other hand driving the ball through, and a final two-handed grasp. On those occasions, I have never seen a T called.

Numerous times? Really? Perhaps what you think you are seeing isn't really occurring because I can say I've rarely seen this play happen where the player/team wasn't properly penalized. I could see this maybe happening when the officials on the game aren't used to above the rim play, but for any official who has even done just a few above the rim games, this shouldn't catch them off guard.

tref Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749078)
Perhaps, but I'm wondering if others have a different view, considering that dunking is allowed, and that grasping is allowed while dunking. I know I have seen it numerous times where a player tries a two-handed dunk, believes or realizes it isn't going to happen, lets one hand slip off to grasp the rim, followed by the other hand driving the ball through, and a final two-handed grasp. On those occasions, I have never seen a T called.

I'd like to see some of those games!!

Jurassic Referee Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 749077)
Randy, you're question has already been answered by JR. You are making this way too complicated. You can't grasp the rim save for the specific exceptions that have already been cited in the thread. I really don't understand what your confusion is. It's a pretty basic basket rule. :confused:

Also answered by you and Snaqs.....

I have no idea why he comes here. There was some very good points made in this thread by various posters. Unfortunately Randy doesn't seem to understand them and he also just refuses to believe anything that he's told. He surashell doesn't understand the nuances of this particular rule when we talk about them.

tref Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749018)
Any of you guys ever seen a high school player with the ability to contact the ring or backboard and use it to their advantage somehow? I don't think I've ever seen that, including as a spectator.

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749078)
Perhaps, but I'm wondering if others have a different view, considering that dunking is allowed, and that grasping is allowed while dunking. I know I have seen it numerous times where a player tries a two-handed dunk, believes or realizes it isn't going to happen, lets one hand slip off to grasp the rim, followed by the other hand driving the ball through, and a final two-handed grasp. On those occasions, I have never seen a T called.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 749081)
Numerous times? Really?

Im confused, which one is it?

Adam Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 749082)
I'd like to see some of those games!!

Lots of funky stuff happens in competitive AAU varsity games.

grunewar Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 749081)
Numerous times? Really? Perhaps what you think you are seeing isn't really occurring because I can say I've rarely seen this play happen where the player/team wasn't properly penalized. I could see this maybe happening when the officials on the game aren't used to above the rim play, but for any official who has even done just a few above the rim games, this shouldn't catch them off guard.

That's what I was thinking.

When I first arrived at the forum several yrs ago, I asked a question about players hanging on the rim. Many dunks, I believe, end in players excessively hanging or holding on the rim (mostly at the college and NBA level).....and we're talking grasping and holding, swinging, nearly doing chin ups, etc., and they are very rarely called.

With experience, I learned not to be a plumber.

The play of which you speak, IMO, would happen very fast, and you would not be evaluated well, or move forward, by calling it.

You'll learn to let em go (or not).......I did.

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 749081)
Numerous times? Really? Perhaps what you think you are seeing isn't really occurring because I can say I've rarely seen this play happen where the player/team wasn't properly penalized. I could see this maybe happening when the officials on the game aren't used to above the rim play, but for any official who has even done just a few above the rim games, this shouldn't catch them off guard.

I'm relying on a lifetime of spectating, here. Maybe the rule is different in college and/or pro? That is where I would have seen most of it. I come from the land of white. I don't have a problem accepting it. I just wasn't seeing the distinction as important, as long as no hanging was done or advantage gained by the initial grab, considering that the rules allow for grasping while dunking. This struck me as one of those situations where I thought at least some of you would argue there is no violation of the intent of the rules, because there is no advantage gained.

Welpe Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:15pm

No advantage gained by a player grasping the rim with his free hand before dunking...ooookay then. :confused:

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 749084)
Im confused, which one is it?

The first passage you quote me on is from my originally intended discussion of 10-3-4. Responses drifted from that, and we turned to 10-3-3, which is where we were in the second passage.

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 749091)
No advantage gained by a player grasping the rim with his free hand before dunking...ooookay then. :confused:

All during the downward dunking motion. As I said previously, no hanging, no propulsion, no prolonging. Where's the advantage?

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 749088)
That's what I was thinking.

When I first arrived at the forum several yrs ago, I asked a question about players hanging on the rim. Many dunks, I believe, end in players excessively hanging or holding on the rim (mostly at the college and NBA level).....and we're talking grasping and holding, swinging, nearly doing chin ups, etc., and they are very rarely called.

With experience, I learned not to be a plumber.

The play of which you speak, IMO, would happen very fast, and you would not be evaluated well, or move forward, by calling it.

You'll learn to let em go (or not).......I did.

Well, that's what I was thinking, but most of the responses, here, indicate they would not let them go.

tref Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 749091)
No advantage gained by a player grasping the rim with his free hand before dunking...ooookay then. :confused:

My chances of playing in The League would've increased considerably, if that was legal :D

APG Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749090)
I'm relying on a lifetime of spectating, here. Maybe the rule is different in college and/or pro? That is where I would have seen most of it. I come from the land of white. I don't have a problem accepting it. I just wasn't seeing the distinction as important, as long as no hanging was done or advantage gained by the initial grab, considering that the rules allow for grasping while dunking. This struck me as one of those situations where I thought at least some of you would argue there is no violation of the intent of the rules, because there is no advantage gained.

This play isn't legal at any level. The rule is the same under NCAA rules I believe. Under NBA rules, this would be an illegal assist in scoring violation...not a technical foul. The ball would be awarded to the defense at the free throw line extended.

Again I say, what you think you are viewing must not be what is happening. No official is going to allow a player to grasp the rim clearly with his off-hand and dunk the ball with the other hand...I promise you if I allowed this to happen in a game, the entire team on defense, the bench, the coach, the person at the snack bar getting popcorn...everyone would give me hell for this, because everyone knows you can't do this...the dunker would probably have a look on his face knowing he got away with one.

Haven't you yourself said you've only been officiating for at most two years? :confused: I'd be very careful in trying to determine what is and isn't the intent of the rules...the replies you get on the forum come from those that have been doing this a lot longer than you and I have. I would concentrate more on knowing the rules inside and out, mechanics, and how to properly enforce the rules.

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:25pm

Anyway, getting back to my topic: It sounds like some of you work in areas where at least some of the high school kids are capable of violating 10-3-4a. In an attempt to gather its frequency, has any of you ever actually called it?

APG Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749112)
Anyway, getting back to my topic: It sounds like some of you work in areas where at least some of the high school kids are capable of violating 10-3-4a. In an attempt to gather its frequency, has any of you ever actually called it?

Not very often...it's not even a call that happens at any level of play that often. Consider how many times you've seen this happen in NCAA/NBA games. Players pretty much know you can't do this. I've called it once and it was pretty blatant.

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 749109)
My chances of playing in The League would've increased considerably, if that was legal :D

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 749111)
This play isn't legal at any level. The rule is the same under NCAA rules I believe. Under NBA rules, this would be an illegal assist in scoring violation...not a technical foul. The ball would be awarded to the defense at the free throw line extended.

Again I say, what you think you are viewing must not be what is happening. No official is going to allow a player to grasp the rim clearly with his off-hand and dunk the ball with the other hand...I promise you if I allowed this to happen in a game, the entire team on defense, the bench, the coach, the person at the snack bar getting popcorn...everyone would give me hell for this, because everyone knows you can't do this...the dunker would probably have a look on his face knowing he got away with one.

Haven't you yourself said you've only been officiating for at most two years? :confused: I'd be very careful in trying to determine what is and isn't the intent of the rules...the replies you get on the forum come from those that have been doing this a lot longer than you and I have. I would concentrate more on knowing the rules inside and out, mechanics, and how to properly enforce the rules.

I'm not sure I'm being understood. I'm talking about what grunewar is talking about, and tref when he indicated it would be allowed because during a dunk, and Snaq when he seemed to make a distinction based on whether control of the ball was maintained. Some of you seem to be imagining moment being applied to the ring. I'm just talking about a simple grasp, nothing else--no affect whatever on the goal taking place by the hand with the ball doing the dunking.

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 749115)
Not very often...it's not even a call that happens at any level of play that often. Consider how many times you've seen this happen in NCAA/NBA games. Players pretty much know you can't do this. I've called it once and it was pretty blatant.

That comports with my observations as a spectator.

Adam Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:38pm

That reminds me.

Popcorn sounds good.

APG Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749119)
That comports with my observations as a spectator.

Well there's something faulty with your observations. What you think is happening is probably not happening. If you wish to, find an example on YouTube or any other site and share it with us. If it's happening as often as you said it was, then surely it would be easy to find video evidence?

Adam Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 749039)
<strike>Not if the grasping was done while control of the ball had been lost.</strike>

FTR, I've revised my post. The exception in 4-6 does not apply to 10-3. I should have caught that before responding, but I've now crossed out the irrelevant portions of my initial response.

tref Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749116)
I'm not sure I'm being understood.

No, we're crystal!!

APG Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 749123)
FTR, I've revised my post. The exception in 4-6 does not apply to 10-3. I should have caught that before responding, but I've now crossed out the irrelevant portions of my initial response.

To be fair, I was sidetracked when basket interference was brought up earlier. JR was right that it didn't apply in this case.

Welpe Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749098)
All during the downward dunking motion. As I said previously, no hanging, no propulsion, no prolonging. Where's the advantage?

Perhaps stabilization, improved yaw, reduced pitch, upward negative thrust...who gives a Canadian nickel, it's illegal for good reason. This isn't a case where you apply the Tower Principle and I'm not really sure why you are trying to.

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 749122)
Well there's something faulty with your observations. What you think is happening is probably not happening. If you wish to, find an example on YouTube or any other site and share it with us. If it's happening as often as you said it was, then surely it would be easy to find video evidence?

:D Sheez: "comport" means to be consistent with, or agree!

APG Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749129)
:D Sheez: "comport" means to be consistent with, or agree!

Umm...my bad! :o

Adam Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 749128)
Perhaps stabilization, improved yaw, reduced pitch, upward negative thrust...who gives a Canadian nickel, it's illegal for good reason. This isn't a case where you apply the Tower Principle and I'm not really sure why you are trying to.

Mainly because it's not in the rule, but you're right in that TP is often applied where the rule itself doesn't call for it (3 seconds, Duke travels). And there's also the "That Guy Principal," you don't want to be the only ref in your area calling something.

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 749128)
Perhaps stabilization, improved yaw, reduced pitch, upward negative thrust...who gives a Canadian nickel, it's illegal for good reason. This isn't a case where you apply the Tower Principle and I'm not really sure why you are trying to.

You are changing my play situation. I explicitly exclude advantage, and you retort by putting it into the situation. I'm not trying to apply the Tower Principle. I said I figured others would, given that there is no advantage gained IN MY SITUATION, together with the fact that grasping is allowed while dunking. I mean, we don't call grasping the rim when the attempted dunk misses, so it can't be that there is some strict rule that the ball must go through the ring before grasping is allowed--or am I wrong there, too?

APG Mon Apr 11, 2011 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749134)
You are changing my play situation. I explicitly exclude advantage, and you retort by putting it into the situation. I'm not trying to apply the Tower Principle. I said I figured others would, given that there is no advantage gained IN MY SITUATION, together with the fact that grasping is allowed while dunking. I mean, we don't call grasping the rim when the attempted dunk misses, so it can't be that there is some strict rule that the ball must go through the ring before grasping is allowed--or am I wrong there, too?

A player is not allowed to grasp the basket unless he's doing so to prevent injury or his hand is legally in contact with the ball in the process of dunking or stuffing the ball...otherwise it's a technical foul...period. What is hard to understand about that? Why are you the only one having an issue with the rule? How is it that everyone else understands this simple rule?

Adam Mon Apr 11, 2011 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 749140)
A player is not allowed to grasp the basket unless he's doing so to prevent injury or his hand is legally in contact with the ball in the process of dunking or stuffing the ball...otherwise it's a technical foul...period. What is hard to understand about that? Why are you the only one having an issue with the rule? How is it that everyone else understands this simple rule?

Dunking does not legally allow a player to grasp the rim.

Welpe Mon Apr 11, 2011 02:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749134)
You are changing my play situation. I explicitly exclude advantage, and you retort by putting it into the situation.

You left an important factor out which I included but that is really neither here nor there.

Quote:

I'm not trying to apply the Tower Principle. I said I figured others would,
You sure seem to be arguing that we should be but since others aren't saying to, what does that tell you? Is your first thought that we are all wrong?

Raymond Mon Apr 11, 2011 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 749077)
Randy, your question has already been answered by JR. You are making this way too complicated. You can't grasp the rim save for the specific exceptions that have already been cited in the thread. I really don't understand what your confusion is. It's a pretty basic basket rule. :confused:


That's what is confusing him.

APG Mon Apr 11, 2011 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 749143)
Dunking does not legally allow a player to grasp the rim.

Shut up Snaq*...I knew what I was saying. :D



*Of course you are correct.

Raymond Mon Apr 11, 2011 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 749083)
... There was some very good points made in this thread by various posters. ...

The best being my assertion that this guy an a$$-hat and clown. :D

He accused someone of changing his play situation. How can that be when he never once described a play or quoted a rule?

I guarantee he is incapable of describing a play and then quoting a rule that would apply.

Adam Mon Apr 11, 2011 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 749150)
Shut up Snaq*...I knew what I was saying. :D



*Of course you are correct.

LOL, I only corrected you because someone seems honestly confused about applying an exception to the BI rule to a technical foul.

That would be like allowing traveling because of 9-9-3.

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 05:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 749154)
LOL, I only corrected you because someone seems honestly confused about applying an exception to the BI rule to a technical foul.

That would be like allowing traveling because of 9-9-3.

As I said to APG, I was disregarding BI, entirely, so I couldn't be confused about it. My question was a very narrow one having to do with technicals for grasping during a dunk--which I regret ever asking, now. Grasping during dunking or attempted dunking is virtually universally allowed under the guise of injury prevention, right--even though in many cases it's theatrics, habit, or whatever. You guys don't call it unless you feel it's egregious or excessive, somehow, I assume. So, I was wondering how many of you would parse the language to include the case of an off-hand grasping the ring a bit early--to no advantage--as being within the limits of injury prevention (preemptive, as it may be), and how many of you would not care about advantage, and T it, regardless. For instance, Snaq, I would have guessed you would let it go if there was no advantage gained, given what you have said previously about contact, and since you don't care what coaches, players, or fans think about your judgment.

BillyMac Mon Apr 11, 2011 06:03pm

Vibrating...
 
Back in the middle of the twentieth century, in order to charge a technical foul for slapping the backboard, didn't the official need to observe the backboard vibrating during a try? If so, maybe this is what's confusing RandyBrown because somewhere along the way, I believe, the NFHS took away the vibrate part of the rule.

Where's Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. when you need him? Probably calling some poor, young, high school pitcher for a balk because he scratched his nose while on the pitcher's mound.

APG Mon Apr 11, 2011 06:07pm

I feel like most every official would call a T or the appropriate violation if a player grabbed the rim with the off-hand and then preceded to dunk the ball with the other hand. For the most part, we don't apply advantage/disadvantage to violations/technical fouls. I suppose you could say a player grabbed the rim to prevent injury and not call the T, but whenever I've seen this called it's pretty obvious that there was no threat of injury.

BillyMac Mon Apr 11, 2011 06:09pm

Misty Water Colored Memories ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 749036)
Defensive player puts one hand on one side of the board to steady himself and swats the ball away on the other side with the other hand.

Thus, the "Ralph Sampson Rule".

Jurassic Referee Mon Apr 11, 2011 06:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 749232)
I feel like most every official would call a T or the appropriate violation if a player grabbed the rim with the off-hand and then preceded to dunk the ball with the other hand. For the most part, we don't apply advantage/disadvantage to violations/technical fouls. I suppose you could say a player grabbed the rim to prevent injury and not call the T, but whenever I've seen this called it's pretty obvious that there was no threat of injury.

As I said before, it's a "T" if the grasp wasn't done to prevent injury. That "T" makes the ball dead, so the subsequent dunk is moot. But if you feel the grasp was made to prevent an injury, no "T" but you still call the BI.

That obviously wasn't for your benefit. You knew that. :)

NFHS rule 4-6-1 and casebook play 9.11.1SitB for Randy.

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 06:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 749230)
Back in the middle of the twentieth century, in order to charge a technical foul for slapping the backboard, didn't the official need to observe the backboard vibrating during a try? If so, maybe this is what's confusing RandyBrown because somewhere along the way, I believe, the NFHS took away the vibrate part of the rule.

Where's Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. when you need him? Probably calling some poor, young, high school pitcher for a balk because he scratched his nose while on the pitcher's mound.

Billy, there was a lot of confusion to go around, because multiple things got brought up during the discourse. You're back on 10-3-4, where I started. The confusion I am thought to suffer commenced when we moved on to 10-3-3, and someone then broght up basket interference thinking I was involving it, somehow, but I was not.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 749232)
I feel like most every official would call a T or the appropriate violation if a player grabbed the rim with the off-hand and then preceded to dunk the ball with the other hand. For the most part, we don't apply advantage/disadvantage to violations/technical fouls. I suppose you could say a player grabbed the rim to prevent injury and not call the T, but whenever I've seen this called it's pretty obvious that there was no threat of injury.

That sounds like a practical, middle-of-the-road response to my question/situation. Thank you. Anyone diverge from this?

RandyBrown Mon Apr 11, 2011 06:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 749246)
As I said before, it's a "T" if the grasp wasn't done to prevent injury. That "T" makes the ball dead, so the subsequent dunk is moot. But if you feel the grasp was made to prevent an injury, no "T" but you still call the BI.

That obviously wasn't for your benefit. You knew that. :)

NFHS rule 4-6-1 and casebook play 9.11.1SitB for Randy.

I appreciate the cites. If I understand your position on your first point, you apply 10-3-3 strictly, even in light of what players commonly get away with while dunking--I have no problem with that. I also understand your second point--so you don't feel the Exception under 4-6-1 and 2 give us room to waive the BI call in this case, huh? Does everyone agree with that?

Adam Mon Apr 11, 2011 06:51pm

I Know I'm Going to Regret This
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749257)
Billy, there was a lot of confusion to go around, because multiple things got brought up during the discourse. You're back on 10-3-4, where I started. The confusion I am thought to suffer commenced when we moved on to 10-3-3, and someone then broght up basket interference thinking I was involving it, somehow, but I was not.

You're the one who brought BI into the discussion by saying:

Quote:

Originally Posted by RandyBrown (Post 749035)
An interesting one: Isn't that legal, because done while dunking?

The exception noted in the rule book for dunking is for BI, not for a technical foul. IOW, grasping the rim is a T. Period. End of story. The only exception to that is if the player is trying to prevent an injury; and that does not require a dunk to be attempted.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1