The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   RICHARDSON'S CAMP (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6586-richardsons-camp.html)

mick Mon Dec 16, 2002 10:29am

Quote:

Originally posted by ROMANO
How old are the refrees in the high-school?
is there any good camps in you'r area?

David,
We have college-aged high school officials (20 years-old) up to, I think, 69 years-old.
My nearest camp is 450 miles away. Canada is much closer.
But, of course, Canada isn't that foreign, and not even that cold.
mick

ROMANO Mon Dec 16, 2002 04:16pm

mick
sometimes to be a small country it's very good thing....
the camp in israel is only 25 km' from my home.
so come to be refree in the holly land......

w_sohl Mon Dec 16, 2002 05:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ROMANO
nice one:
player b-4 standing in the three-point field goal area,accidentally he scores in the worng basket.
shall 3 points be credited to team A?think well....

Only two points are awarded to the other team because this is not a legal shot attempt. Also, if the player is fouled and the team is not in the bonus no foul shouts will be attempted.

ROMANO Tue Dec 17, 2002 02:52am

This the correct answer Shol.
and another one:
A-4 and B-4 are involved in a double foul.
A-4 foul is unsportmanlike.shall free throws be awarded for either foul?
p.s
Do you have unsportmanlike foul in rules book?

Jay R Tue Dec 17, 2002 11:25am

Romano.

In FIBA, no free throws on a double foul, even if one is unsportsmanlike.

ROMANO Tue Dec 17, 2002 11:32am

Jay r
so what will you do in this situation?
i think that if you call one of the foul unsportmanlike this is no more double foul

ROMANO Tue Dec 17, 2002 11:35am

P.S
this situation happned to me once...

w_sohl Tue Dec 17, 2002 12:06pm

Is this anything like football and both penalties offset so you ignore that one was unsportsmanlike and just report both fouls to the table?

ROMANO Tue Dec 17, 2002 04:20pm

Yes W.shol
becausa i reported to the table both foul as a one double foul.
in this situation i have nothing to do,don't you think?

ROMANO Tue Dec 17, 2002 04:44pm

i have just come back from my game in the national league
and i want to ask question about something that happend to me.
3 second before the end of 24 seconds device .when the ball was in the hands of player a4 i call for duoble dribbling but it was my mistake and it was legal dribbling so i whistle and said to evreone i'm sorry my mistake and gave the ball back to team a control.
the qestion is:
should i give to team a a new 24 seconds or to continue from where the game stooped and only 3 seconds.
i thing that i was mistaked because we continue the game with only 3 seconds on the 24 seconds device.
what will you do in this situation?

Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 17, 2002 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ROMANO
i have just come back from my game in the national league
and i want to ask question about something that happend to me.
3 second before the end of 24 seconds device .when the ball was in the hands of player a4 i call for duoble dribbling but it was my mistake and it was legal dribbling so i whistle and said to evreone i'm sorry my mistake and gave the ball back to team a control.
the qestion is:
should i give to team a a new 24 seconds or to continue from where the game stooped and only 3 seconds.
i thing that i was mistaked because we continue the game with only 3 seconds on the 24 seconds device.
what will you do in this situation?

I don't know FIBA rules,but I think that you did the correct thing.As an official,you do not want to punish one team for your mistake,nor do you want to help the other team with the same mistake.If you put 24 seconds back on the clock,you are wrongfully helping the offense,while punishing the defense at the same time. In this case,you are just starting play over exactly where you stopped it, and neither team has gained an advantage because of it.

I think that you did the right thing!

Jay R Tue Dec 17, 2002 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ROMANO
Jay r
so what will you do in this situation?
i think that if you call one of the foul unsportmanlike this is no more double foul

This is straight out of the CABO (Canadian Association of Basketball Officials) case book for FIBA rules:

If one or both fouls of a double foul are unsportsmanlike, shall free throws be awarded? (Answer) No

ROMANO Tue Dec 17, 2002 05:42pm

Thank you Jay r
this is nice situation
Jurassic ref' what is the correct answer for my situation
from the book of rules?

Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 17, 2002 06:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ROMANO
Thank you Jay r
this is nice situation
Jurassic ref' what is the correct answer for my situation
from the book of rules?

ROMANO, I don't have a clue what the right call would be under FIBA rules. Maybe JayR or one of the other persons who use FIBA rules can answer that. Under NCAA rules, using an inadvertant whistle reference, I think that the way that you handled it is the correct way.

ROMANO Tue Dec 17, 2002 06:50pm

ARE the NCAA rules and the NBA rules similar?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1