The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 20, 2000, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
Thumbs up

quote:
Originally posted by pizanno:
Todd, you have to agree that technically, a pass from outside the 3-pt arc, by definition, is not a shot and therefore is only 2 points if the pass enters the hoop.



The danger in speaking "off the cuff" is that one can't check to be sure of the accuracy of one's impressions. Few people have perfect recollection, myself included among those who do not. In finally looking up the Definitions, it does appear that the official has to JUDGE that a player is trying for a goal (Rule 4-40-2, as pizzano indicated). That surprised me, in that it allows more subjectivity than I expected or would think desireable, but I can't really argue with the wording in the book. Now I have to re-think the matter some more so I'm ready in a game situation. Anyway, unless I get additional information to support my original impression, I concede. Thanks, pizanno, mick and Camron, for fine-tuning my knowledge base and keeping me sharp.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1