The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2011 NCAAM Sweet 16 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/65510-2011-ncaam-sweet-16-a.html)

JRutledge Sat Mar 26, 2011 01:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 743941)
Some would argue that the foul is on the follow through when the offensive player was hit in the face (not necessarily making this argument).

The contact was mostly with the ball and maybe at the end there was contact with the face. But that was a result of the overall block (which was legal). I think that would be a lame foul to call. Just like a player that knocks the ball away on a dribbler and there is some contact after the ball is loose and no one is put at a disadvantage with some contact that takes place.

Peace

Camron Rust Sat Mar 26, 2011 01:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 743884)
1) What rule gives any opponent the right to a spot under an airborne player when that opponent did not have that spot when the player went airborne?

2) Yup, I think a player should be allowed to land if there was no one in his path when he went airborne.

What if they are BOTH airborne such that no one was in their paths when they jumped and such that their paths are crossing? Which ONE has the right to land and how are you going to decide?

APG Sat Mar 26, 2011 02:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 743945)
The contact was mostly with the ball and maybe at the end there was contact with the face. But that was a result of the overall block (which was legal). I think that would be a lame foul to call. Just like a player that knocks the ball away on a dribbler and there is some contact after the ball is loose and no one is put at a disadvantage with some contact that takes place.

Peace

I pretty much agree with your view on the play. I was surprised the official put air in the whistle on this one and I think it was exactly for the contact to the face. Oh well.

JRutledge Sat Mar 26, 2011 02:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 743947)
I pretty much agree with your view on the play. I was surprised the official put air in the whistle on this one and I think it was exactly for the contact to the face. Oh well.

Those guys are obviously not perfect. :)

Peace

APG Sat Mar 26, 2011 02:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 743948)
Those guys are obviously not perfect. :)

Peace

Gasp! Say it ain't so! ;)

Lcubed48 Sat Mar 26, 2011 02:31am

Yes, Sir
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 743628)
This may be Chris Mooney's last weekend coaching in Richmond. Shaka's also.

It is quite possible that your observation may indeed come to pass.

JugglingReferee Sat Mar 26, 2011 06:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 743944)
Seemed in the arena that VCU benefited from a slow 5-second count in OT to score the winning basket against FSU. Opposite of TX/AZ game. Thoughts?

I eluded to this in the chat room by saying that the count was really "5.5".

My thoughts: I'd bet a wobbly pop that it was longer than 5.

Raymond Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 743941)
Some would argue that the foul is on the follow through when the offensive player was hit in the face (not necessarily making this argument).

I have a foul for the blow to the head.

Raymond Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 743944)
Seemed in the arena that VCU benefited from a slow 5-second count in OT to score the winning basket against FSU. Opposite of TX/AZ game. Thoughts?

"Seemed" long but I didn't time it.

grunewar Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:06pm

For you Mark.......
 
A local news station was reviewing this week's NCAAs. They talked about BYU and "the Jimmer" and the announcer called his last game, "A night to Fredette" :p

Raymond Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:07pm

NCAA-M DII final is on CBS right now. BYU-Hawaii vs. Bellarmine.

mbyron Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 744004)
I have a foul for the blow to the head.

+1

Incidental contact, ok, but this follow-through was a little heavy.

Big East: no call. :)

eyezen Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 743945)
The contact was mostly with the ball and maybe at the end there was contact with the face. But that was a result of the overall block (which was legal). I think that would be a lame foul to call. Just like a player that knocks the ball away on a dribbler and there is some contact after the ball is loose and no one is put at a disadvantage with some contact that takes place.

Peace

Maybe? ya think? :D

JRutledge Sat Mar 26, 2011 06:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 744016)
Maybe? ya think? :D

I saw more contact with the ball then the face.

Peace

Judtech Sat Mar 26, 2011 06:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 744067)
I saw more contact with the ball then the face.

Peace

I wonder if it would have been appropriate to say "In Your Face" on that one:confused:
J/K


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1